Public Service Entrance Exam – Unsupervised Internet Test 370

Use

The purpose of the Public Service Entrance Exam – Unsupervised Internet Test 370 (PSEE UIT 370) is to assess an individual's reasoning skills and judgement for officer-level positions in the federal public service. Hiring managers may use it as the first step in a two-step assessment process to complement a similar test administered in a supervised setting (e.g., PSEE 371).

This test is an Unsupervised Internet Test (UIT) that is administered over the Internet in an unsupervised environment. It is accessible anywhere the test-taker has access to a computer and an Internet connection. Consult the Understanding the Public Service Entrance Exam Suite of Products Web page to learn more about the suite of related products.

Description

The PSEE UIT 370 consists of two separately timed sub-tests that can be completed at different times and locations.

Sub-Test 1: Test of Reasoning is designed to assess reasoning and problem-solving ability and consists of 26 multiple choice questions. Of the 26 questions, 25 count towards the final score. One question is a pilot question that does not count. There are four types of questions:

  • Arithmetic reasoning;
  • Logical reasoning;
  • Analytical reasoning; and
  • Number or letter series.

The time limit is 90 minutes to complete this sub-test.

Sub-Test 2: Test of Judgement is designed to assess the judgement required for solving problems in work-related situations and consists of 52 multiple choice questions. It does not contain any pilot questions. All questions count towards the final score.

The time limit is 75 minutes to complete this sub-test.

All applicants must take sub-test 1. Sub-test 2 is required only if additional information is needed to complete the assessment. When applicants are required to take both sub-tests, they are not required to take sub-test 2 immediately after having completed sub-test 1. However, it is advisable to complete both sub-tests well in advance of the deadline to allow sufficient time to deal with any technical difficulties, should they arise.

Pass mark

Sub-test 1: Applicants must place in the top 90% (10th percentile or better) of a large group of previous test-takers (normative sample).

Sub-test 2: Applicants must place in the top 80% (20th percentile or better) of the normative sample.

At the hiring manager's discretion, the pass mark may be set as high as the 50th percentile for both sub-tests. In other words, to pass a sub-test, an applicant would have to place in the top 50% of the normative sample.

Useful links:

Examen d'entrée à la fonction publique – Test en ligne non supervisé 370

Utilisation

L'Examen d'entrée à la fonction publique – Test en ligne non supervisé 370 (EEFP TELNS 370) sert à évaluer la capacité de raisonnement et le jugement des candidats à des postes au niveau d'agent dans la fonction publique fédérale. Les gestionnaires d'embauche peuvent utiliser ce test en tant que première étape d'un processus d'évaluation en deux étapes afin de complémenter l'administration de la version supervisée d'un test semblable (p.ex., l'EEFP 371).

Ce test est un Test en ligne non supervisé (TELNS) qui est administré sur Internet dans un environnement sans surveillance. Il est accessible partout où les personnes ont accès à un ordinateur et à Internet. Veuillez consulter la page Bien comprendre la gamme de produits de l'Examen d'entrée à la fonction publique pour obtenir plus d'information sur la gamme de produits.

Description

L'EEFP TELNS 370 comprend deux parties qui sont chronométrées séparément et qui peuvent être complétées à des moments et des endroits différents.

Le sous-test 1 : Test de raisonnement a pour but d'évaluer la capacité de raisonnement et de résolution de problèmes et il comprend 26 questions à choix multiples. Des 26 questions, 25 comptent dans le résultat final. L'une d'entre elles est une question pilote qui ne compte pas. Il y a quatre types de questions :

  • Raisonnement arithmétique
  • Raisonnement logique
  • Raisonnement analytique
  • Séries de nombres ou de lettres

Le délai pour passer ce sous-test est de 90 minutes.

Le sous-test 2 : Test de jugement a pour but d'évaluer le jugement requis pour résoudre des problèmes dans des situations reliées au travail et il comprend 52 questions à choix multiples. Il ne contient aucune question pilote. Toutes les questions comptent dans le résultat final.

Le délai pour passer ce sous-test est de 75 minutes.

Tous les candidats doivent passer le sous-test 1. Le sous-test 2 est exigé seulement dans les situations où l'on doit obtenir de l'information supplémentaire pour compléter l'évaluation. Lorsqu'un candidat doit passer les deux sous-tests, il n'est pas nécessaire de faire le sous-test 2 immédiatement après le sous-test 1. Cependant, il est recommandé de passer les deux sous-tests bien avant l'échéance afin d'allouer suffisamment de temps pour régler les problèmes techniques, le cas échéant.

Note de passage

Sous-test 1 : les candidats doivent se classer parmi les 90 % meilleurs candidats (10e centile ou mieux) d'un large échantillon de personnes ayant déjà passé le test (échantillon normatif).

Sous-test 2 : les candidats doivent se classer parmi les 80 % meilleurs candidats (20e centile ou mieux) de l'échantillon normatif.

Les gestionnaires d'embauche peuvent fixer à leur discrétion une note de passage qui peut atteindre le 50e centile pour les deux sous-tests. En d'autres termes, afin de réussir un sous-test, un postulant devrait se classer parmi les 50 % meilleurs candidats de l'échantillon normatif du sous-test.

Liens utiles: