Middle Manager In-Basket Exercise

820

Purpose

The Middle Manager In-Basket Exercise 820 provides rich and unique information on the overall ability to manage at the middle-management level.

The information yielded on managerial effectiveness can be highly useful in selecting people for middle-management positions. It can also establish the training and development needs of current or potential middle-managers, and for counselling for career transitions.

What Competencies are Assessed

The Managerial In-Basket Exercise 820 evaluates the ability to manage, and results are expressed in terms of a global score. In addition, candidates receive a sub-score out of 5 on each of the following specific managerial abilities: Analyzing, Problem Solving, Delegating, Managing Programs, Planning, and Organizing.

The sum of the scores on the six specific managerial abilities gives the candidate's score on overall ability to manage, which can vary from 0 to 30. The individual sub-scores on the specific managerial abilities are not intended to be used on their own. Hence, these sub-scores should not be used for screening purposes.

A description of each of the above mentioned competencies is given below.

How the In-Basket Works

The Middle Manager In-Basket Exercise 820 simulates the important aspects of a middle-manager's job. The individual takes on the duties of a middle manager of an organization.

At the time of the assessment, the individual receives:

  • background information, including the organization's mission statement and organizational chart.
  • documents similar to items normally found in a manager's in-basket, such as memos, letters, and reports.

The Middle Manager In-Basket Exercise 820 takes 3 ¼ hours, with an additional 15 minutes for administration purposes. During the 3 ¼ hours, the individual must do the following:

  • become familiar with the organization and the material in the in-basket.
  • respond to the items as if actually on the job, by writing memos and letters, planning meetings, preparing agendas, delegating tasks, etc. All actions or plans for action must be indicated in writing. (time alloted 2 ½ hours)
  • explain the approach taken with each item. (time alloted 45 minutes)

Evaluation

Each action is evaluated within the context of the particular problem under consideration, the organizational environment, and other actions taken. The judgement of executives and senior managers concerning the appropriateness of decisions and actions taken is the standard against which the responses are evaluated.

The actions taken and planned in dealing with problems presented in the Middle Manager In-Basket 820 are evaluated in terms of their effectiveness within the context of six specific managerial competencies. Each of these specific competencies is rated on a scale from 0 to 5, with 5 being "very high".

The sum of the ratings on the six specific managerial competencies gives the individual's rating on "overall ability to manage". The overall score can vary from 0 to 30. Managers holding an appointment process can set the cut-off score based on the ability required by the position. They should consult the "Guidelines for Using the Managerial In-Basket Exercise (820)", which are available from the PPC.

Definitions of Competencies

Analyzing

Identifies, analyzes and evaluates personnel, operational, organizational and budgetary problems. Included are such activities as identifying underlying causes of problems; linking common elements and interrelationships between problems; relating problems to broader issues; and suggesting possible organizational implications.

Problem solving

Formulates alternative approaches to achieve objectives and propose solutions to long and short-term problems. Considers the benefits and risks of proposed solutions.

Delegating

Makes effective use of personnel by taking into consideration capabilities and responsibilities of staff members. Delegates operational tasks, establishes provisions for follow-up, and critically assesses staff performance.

Managing programs

Manages activities and programs to ensure that work is accurate and that it conforms to relevant policies, as well as to the constraints of financial and human resources. Maintains priorities and quotas while meeting deadlines and maintaining a smooth work flow.

Planning

Initiates and develops an orderly and systematic pattern for completing activities and programs within the context of a demanding environment. Sets priorities to achieve objectives and formulates approaches that will ensure maximum use of human resources over the long-term.

Organizing

Organizes work and activities through the use of systematic time management. Develops orderly procedures and methods to ensure maximum use of time and human resources. Activities include systematically scheduling work, using a calendar to organize activities, and critically evaluating demands on time.

Retest Period

There is a 180 day waiting period before you can rewrite the test. You may not retake it until the retest period has elapsed. If you rewrite the test before the retest period has elapsed, your result will not be valid and a new retest period will be imposed from the most recent test date.

Candidate Information

Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion intermédiaire 820

But

L'Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion intermédiaire 820 permet d'évaluer la capacité générale de gestion nécessaire dans les postes au niveau de gestion intermédiaire.

Les renseignements tirés de cet exercice au sujet de l'efficacité en gestion peuvent être extrêmement utiles dans le choix des candidats à des postes de gestionnaire intermédiaire. Il permet aussi de formuler les besoins de formation et de perfectionnement des gestionnaires intermédiaires actuels ou potentiels, et de fournir des conseils en matière de transition professionnelle.

Quelles sont les compétences évaluées?

L'Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion 820 évalue la capacité de gérer, et les résultats sont exprimés sous forme d'un score global. De plus, les candidats et candidates reçoivent un sous-score sur 5 pour chacune des capacités spécifiques de gestion suivantes : Analyser, Résoudre des problèmes, Déléguer, Gérer des programmes, Planifier, et Organiser.

Le total des scores obtenus pour les six capacités spécifiques de gestion donne l'évaluation du candidat ou de la candidate en ce qui a trait à la capacité de gérer. Le score total peut varier de 0 à 30. Les scores individuels de chacune des capacités spécifiques de gestion ne doivent pas être utilisés de façon isolée. Ainsi, ces sous-scores ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la présélection.

Vous trouverez un peu plus bas une description de chacune de ces compétences mentionnées précédemment.

Comment se déroule l'exercice

L'Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion intermédiaire 820 constitue une simulation des aspects importants d'un poste comportant des fonctions de gestion intermédiaire. Les candidats sont invités à assumer les fonctions de gestionnaire intermédiaire d'un organisme.

Au cours de cet exercice, les candidats recevront :

  • des documents de base, tels que le mandat de l'organisme et son organigramme;
  • des documents semblables à ceux qui sont normalement déposés dans la « corbeille d'entrée » d'un gestionnaire, tels que des lettres, des notes de service et des rapports.

La durée totale de l'exercice est de 3 h 15, avec 15 minutes de plus pour les mesures administratives. Durant les 3 h 15, les candidats devront :

  • prendre connaissance de l'organisme et des documents dans la « corbeille d'entrée »;
  • traiter les différents documents en rédigeant des notes de service et aide-mémoire, en planifiant des réunions, en dressant des ordres du jour, en déléguant des tâches, etc. Les plans d'action adoptés ainsi que toutes les mesures prises doivent être indiquées par écrit (temps alloué 2 h 30);
  • justifier les mesures prises pour chaque élément (temps alloué 45 minutes).

Évaluation

Chacune des mesures prises est évaluée en fonction de la situation précise à régler, du milieu organisationnel en cause et des autres interventions. L'opinion de gestionnaires et de cadres de direction, quant à la pertinence des décisions et des mesures prises, sert de norme pour l'évaluation des réponses.

Les mesures prises ou projetées en réponse aux problèmes posés dans l'Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion 820 sont évaluées en fonction de leur efficacité en regard des six compétences spécifiques de gestion.

Le total des notes attribuées pour les six compétences spécifiques de gestion constituent la note du candidat pour ce qui est de la capacité générale de gérer. La note finale peut varier de 0 à 30. Les gestionnaires responsables d'un processus de nomination peuvent établir la note de passage selon le niveau de compétence nécessaire pour le poste. Ils devraient consulter les « Lignes directrices régissant l'utilisation de l'exercice “ in-basket ” pour la gestion intermédiaire 820 », préparées par le CPP.

Définition des compétences

Analyse

Définit, analyse et évalue des problèmes relatifs au personnel, aux opérations, à l'organisation et au budget. Les activités consistent à définir les causes sous-jacentes des problèmes; à établir un lien entre les éléments communs et entre les problèmes; à examiner des questions plus générales et à proposer des incidences possibles sur l'organisation.

Résolution de problèmes

Propose des méthodes différentes pour atteindre les objectifs et des solutions aux problèmes à court et à long termes. Tient compte des avantages et des risques des solutions proposées.

Délégation de responsabilités

Utilise de façon efficace le personnel en tenant compte de leurs compétences et responsabilités. Délègue des fonctions opérationnelles, détermine les mesures de suivi et évalue de façon éclairée le rendement du personnel.

Gestion de programmes

Gère les activités ou les programmes de sorte que le travail soit précis et conforme aux politiques et aux contraintes en matière de budget et de ressources humaines. Respecte les priorités et les limites, ainsi que les échéances et assure le bon déroulement du travail.

Planification

Entreprend et élabore un modèle ordonné et systématique en vue d'exécuter les activités et les programmes selon les exigences. Fixe des priorités en vue de l'atteinte des objectifs et formule des approches qui garantissent l'utilisation maximale des ressources humaines à long terme.

Organisation

Organise le travail et les activités à la faveur de la gestion systématique du temps. Établit des processus et des méthodes ordonnées pour garantir l'utilisation maximale du temps et des ressources humaines. Les activités visent notamment à échelonner votre travail personnel de façon systématique, à tenir un calendrier de vos activités et à porter un jugement critique sur votre propre emploi du temps.

Période de retest

Il y a une période d'attente de 180 jours avant de pouvoir reprendre cet examen. Vous ne pouvez pas reprendre cet examen avant que soit écoulée la période d'attente indiquée pour cet examen. Si vous repassez l'examen avant que la période d'attente soit écoulée, votre résultat ne sera pas valide et une nouvelle période d'attente vous sera imposée à compter de la nouvelle date d'examen.

Renseignements destinés aux candidats