Managerial In-Basket Exercise (810)

Purpose

The Managerial In-Basket Exercise 810 provides rich and unique information on the overall ability to manage at the senior manager level.

The information yielded on managerial effectiveness can be highly useful in selecting people for management positions. It can be used for screening purposes or to rank candidates in terms of their managerial ability. It can also establish the training and development needs of current or potential managers, and it can assist in determining organizational development needs, and in career transition counselling.

What Competencies are Assessed

The Managerial In-Basket Exercise 810 evaluates the ability to manage, and results are expressed in terms of a global score. In addition, candidates receive a sub-score out of 5 on each of the following specific managerial abilities: Planning, Directing, Analyzing, Empowering, and Organizing.

The sum of the scores on the five specific managerial abilities gives the candidate's score on overall ability to manage, which can vary from 0 to 25. The individual sub-scores on the specific managerial abilities are not intended to be used on their own. Hence, these sub-scores should not be used for screening purposes.

A description of each of these competencies is given below.

How the In-Basket Works

The Managerial In-Basket Exercise 810 simulates the important aspects of a management job. The individual takes on the duties of a general manager of an organization.

At the time of the assessment, the individual receives:

  • background information, including the organization's mission statement and organizational chart.
  • documents similar to items normally found in a manager's in-basket, such as memos, letters, and reports.

The Managerial In-Basket Exercise 810 takes 3 ¼ hours, with an additional 15 minutes for administration purposes. During the 3 ¼ hours, the individual must do the following:

  • become familiar with the organization and the material in the in-basket.
  • respond to the items as if actually on the job, by writing memos and letters, planning meetings, preparing agendas, delegating tasks, etc. All actions or plans of action must be indicated in writing. (2 ½ hours)
  • explain the approach taken with each item. (45 minutes)

Evaluation

Each action is evaluated within the context of the particular problem under consideration, the organizational environment, and other actions taken. The judgement of executives and senior managers concerning the appropriateness of decisions and actions taken is the standard against which the responses are evaluated.

The actions taken and planned in dealing with the problems presented in the Managerial In-Basket Exercise 810 are evaluated in terms of their effectiveness within the context of the specific managerial competencies. Each of these specific competencies is rated on a scale from 0 to 5, with 5 being "very high".

The sum of the ratings on the five specific managerial competencies gives the individual's rating on overall ability to manage. The overall score can vary from 0 to 25. Managers holding an appointment process can set the cut-off score based on the ability required by the position. They should consult the "Guidelines for Using the Managerial In-Basket Exercise (810)", which are available from the PPC.

Definitions of Competencies

Planning

Plans and initiates effective approaches or actions in response to organizational problems that are related to program, project, finance, and personnel or public demands. Included are such activities as planning meetings to discuss problems and action plans; initiating investigations; taking steps to prepare agenda, reports, speeches, and other documents; recommending alternative approaches; and improving or modifying programs and systems.

Directing

Provides staff with effective leadership and guidance, and establishes the necessary feedback mechanisms for monitoring activities and costs.

Analyzing

Analyzes and evaluates personnel, operational, organizational and budgetary problems. This includes identifying common elements, inter-relationships and underlying causes of problems; indicating approaches to solutions; and relating solutions to broader issues and organizational implications.

Empowering

Effectively delegates work to staff, taking into consideration their capabilities and responsibilities; ensures the effective assignment of operational functions and establishes provisions for follow-up.

Organizing

Organizes work and activities through the use of systematic time management. Develops orderly procedures and methods that will, over the long term, ensure maximum use of time and human resources. Included in this category are such activities as scheduling work systematically, using a calendar to organize activities, and critically evaluating demands on time.

Retest Period

There is a 180 day waiting period before you can rewrite the test. You may not retake it until the retest period has elapsed. If you rewrite the test before the retest period has elapsed, your result will not be valid and a new retest period will be imposed from the most recent test date.

Candidate Information

Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion 810

But

L' Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion 810 permet d'évaluer la capacité générale de gestion nécessaire dans les postes au niveau de gestion supérieur.

Les renseignements tirés de cet exercice au sujet de l'efficacité en gestion peuvent être extrêmement utiles dans le choix des candidats à des postes de gestionnaire. L'exercice peut servir à des fins de présélection ou pour classer les candidats en fonction de leurs aptitudes de gestion. Il permet aussi de définir les besoins de formation et de perfectionnement des gestionnaires actuels ou potentiels, de déterminer les besoins de perfectionnement de l'organisation et de fournir des conseils en matière de transition professionnelle.

Quelles sont les compétences évaluées?

L'Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion 810 évalue la capacité de gérer, et les résultats sont exprimés sous forme d'un score global. De plus, les candidats reçoivent un sous-score sur 5 pour chacune des capacités spécifiques de gestion suivantes : Planifier, Diriger, Analyser, Responsabiliser, et Organiser.

Le total des scores obtenus pour les cinq capacités spécifiques de gestion donne l'évaluation du candidat en ce qui a trait à la capacité de gérer. Le score total peut varier de 0 à 25. Les scores individuels de chacune des capacités spécifiques de gestion ne doivent pas être utilisés de façon isolée. Ainsi, ces sous-scores ne doivent pas être utilisés pour la présélection.

Vous trouverez un peu plus bas une description de chacune de ces compétences.

Comment se déroule l'exercice

L' Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion 810 constitue une simulation des aspects importants d'un poste comportant des fonctions de gestion. Les candidats sont invités à assumer les fonctions de gestionnaire d'organisme.

Au cours de cet exercice, les candidats recevront :

  • des documents de base, tels que le mandat de l'organisme et son organigramme;
  • des documents semblables à ceux qui sont normalement déposés dans la « corbeille d'entrée » d'un gestionnaire, tels que des lettres, des notes de service et des rapports.

La durée totale de l'exercice est de 3 h 15, avec 15 minutes de plus pour les mesures administratives. Durant les 3 h 15, les candidats devront :

  • prendre connaissance de l'organisme et des documents dans la « corbeille d'entrée »;
  • traiter les différents documents en rédigeant des notes de service et aide-mémoire, en planifiant des réunions, en dressant des ordres du jour, en déléguant des tâches, etc. Les plans d'action adoptés ainsi que toutes les mesures prises doivent être indiquées par écrit (2 h 30);
  • justifier les mesures prises pour chaque élément (45 minutes).

Évaluation

Chacune des mesures prises est évaluée en fonction de la situation précise à régler, du milieu organisationnel en cause et des autres interventions. L'opinion de gestionnaires et de cadres de direction, quant à l'à-propos des décisions et des mesures prises, sert de norme pour l'évaluation des réponses.

Les mesures prises ou projetées en réponse aux problèmes posés dans l'Exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion 810 sont évaluées en fonction de leur efficacité en regard des cinq compétences spécifiques de gestion.

Chacune des compétences spécifiques de gestion est cotée de 0 à 5, où 5 est « très élevé ».

Le total des notes obtenues pour les cinq compétences spécifiques de gestion donne l'évaluation du candidat en ce qui a trait à la capacité de gérer. La note totale peut varier de 0 à 25. Les gestionnaires responsables d'un processus de nomination peuvent établir la note de passage selon le niveau de compétence nécessaire pour le poste. Ils devraient consulter les "Lignes directrices régissant l'utilisation de l'exercice « in-basket » pour la gestion (810)", produite par le CPP.

Définition des compétences

Planifier

Capacité de planifier et de mettre en oeuvre des solutions ou des interventions efficaces pour résoudre des problèmes organisationnels touchant les programmes, les projets, les finances ainsi que les exigences du personnel et du public. Cette capacité regroupe diverses activités, dont la planification de réunions pour discuter de problèmes et de plans d'action; l'amorce de recherche; la rédaction d'ordre du jour, de rapports, de discours et d'autres documents; la recommandation de solutions de rechange ainsi que l'amélioration de programmes et de systèmes.

Diriger

Capacité de diriger et de conseiller efficacement le personnel ainsi que de mettre en place les mécanismes de rétroaction nécessaires pour suivre de près les activités et les coûts.

Analyser

Capacité d'analyser et d'évaluer des problèmes touchant le personnel, les opérations, l'organisation et la gestion du budget. Cette capacité se manifeste par la détermination des causes sous-jacentes des problèmes, d'éléments communs, d'interrelations, de solutions aux problèmes, de questions plus vastes et des répercussions sur l'organisme.

Responsabiliser

Capacité de déléguer efficacement des tâches aux employés en tenant compte des capacités et des responsabilités de chacun, de l'attribution efficace des fonctions opérationnelles et des méthodes de contrôle en place.

Organiser

Capacité d'organiser votre travail et vos activités par la gestion systématique de vos heures de travail. Ceci implique aussi votre capacité d'établir des méthodes qui assureront à long terme l'utilisation maximale des heures de travail et des ressources humaines. Vous devez pouvoir échelonner votre travail personnel de façon systématique, tenir un calendrier de vos activités et porter un jugement critique sur votre propre emploi du temps.

Période de retest

Il y a une période d'attente de 180 jours avant de pouvoir reprendre cet examen. Vous ne pouvez pas reprendre cet examen avant que soit écoulée la période d'attente indiquée pour cet examen. Si vous repassez l'examen avant que la période d'attente soit écoulée, votre résultat ne sera pas valide et une nouvelle période d'attente vous sera imposée à compter de la nouvelle date d'examen.

Renseignements destinés aux candidats