Mobility provision for former ministers' staff

Certain persons who were employed in ministers' offices are eligible to participate in advertised internal appointment processes open to all employees of the public service and/or persons employed in the public service.

The Public Service Commission (PSC) has retained the authority to confirm if a person who has been employed in a minister’s office meets the criteria for the mobility regime set out in section 35.2 of the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA).

NOTE: For the purpose of this mobility provision, "employee" is defined in the PSEA as "a person employed in that part of the public service to which the PSC has exclusive authority to make appointments. An advertised internal appointment process is open to all employees when the organizational criterion established under section 34 of the PSEA entitles all employees in the public service to be considered.

In order to participate in an advertised internal appointment process, a person must have been employed for at least three years in the office of a minister or of a person holding the recognized position of Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, or Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons, and have ceased to be employed in such an office. The three years of employment may also be in any of these offices successively, that is, without a break in the employment relationship.

This mobility provision replaces the former entitlement for priority appointment previously found under subsections 41(2) and 41(3) of the PSEA, which were repealed in December 2006 when amendments contained in the Federal Accountability Act came into force.

Determination of eligibility:

Persons wishing to request confirmation of their eligibility for mobility must submit the request using the form “Confirmation of eligibility for mobility of former ministers' staff” which is available on the PSC Web site. Applicants must send the completed form and related documents to the following address:

Director General
Political Activities and Non-Partisanship Directorate
Policy Branch
Public Service Commission
22 Eddy Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0M7

FAX: 819-420-6546

Where the applicant is found to have met the requirements, the PSC will issue a letter of confirmation. The letter will serve as proof and is to be submitted each time the applicant makes use of their eligibility to participate in an advertised internal appointment process for which the organizational criterion established under section 34 of the PSEA entitles all employees to be considered, as long as the person meets the other criteria established under that section, if any, such as the geographical component of the area of selection.

Duration:

The eligibility to participate in advertised internal appointment processes is for a period of one year after the person ceases to be employed in the minister's office or in the office of a person holding the recognized position of Leader of the Opposition in the Senate, or Leader of the Opposition in the House of Commons.

Contact:

For further information, please contact the PSC Political Activities and Non-Partisanship Directorate at 1-866-707-7152, or at CFP.ActivitesPolitiques-PoliticalActivities.PSC@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Confirmation of eligibility for mobility of former ministers' staff

The form, available in PDF format (Portable Document Format), can be completed by:

  1. Filling in the form on-screen and then printing it for submission by mail or facsimile; or
  2. Printing the form and filling in the fields by hand for submission by mail or facsimile.

Note: if you wish to have this document in an alternative format, please contact us at 1-866-707-7152.

Confirmation of eligibility for mobility of former ministers' staff

Please send the completed form to:

Director General
Political Activities and Non-Partisanship Directorate
Policy Branch
Public Service Commission
22 Eddy Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 0M7

FAX: 819-420-6546

Disposition concernant la mobilité des anciens membres du personnel des cabinets de ministres

Certaines personnes employées dans les cabinets de ministres sont admissibles à participer aux processus de nomination internes annoncés pour lesquels le critère organisationnel fixé vise tous les fonctionnaires et/ou les personnes employées dans la fonction publique.

La Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) a conservé le pouvoir de confirmer si la personne qui a été employée dans le cabinet d’un ministre rencontre les critères du régime concernant la mobilité est prévu à l'article 35.2 de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP).

NOTA : En ce qui a trait à cette disposition concernant la mobilité, le mot «fonctionnaire » est défini dans la LEFP de la façon suivante : « Personne employée dans la fonction publique et dont la nomination à celle-ci relève exclusivement de la Commission ». Un processus de nomination interne annoncé vise tous les fonctionnaires si le critère organisationnel fixé en vertu de l'article 34 de la LEFP permet à tous les fonctionnaires dans la fonction publique d'y participer.

Pour être admissible à un processus de nomination interne annoncé, la personne doit avoir été employée pendant au moins trois ans dans le cabinet d'un ministre ou du titulaire des charges de leader de l'Opposition au Sénat ou de chef de l'Opposition à la Chambre des communes et cessé de travailler dans l'un ou l'autre de ces cabinets. Ces trois années d'emploi peuvent également s'être déroulées de façon successive dans l'un ou l'autre de ces cabinets, c’est-à-dire, sans qu'il y ait eu interruption de la relation d’emploi.

Cette disposition concernant la mobilité remplace l'ancien droit de priorité de nomination auparavant décrit dans les paragraphes 41(2) et 41(3) de la LEFP, qui ont été abrogés en décembre 2006 lors de l'entrée en vigueur de modifications contenues dans la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité.

Détermination de l'admissibilité :

Les personnes qui désirent confirmer leur admissibilité à la mobilité doivent remplir le formulaire de demande « Confirmation de l’admissibilité à la mobilité des anciens membres du personnel des cabinets de ministres », qui se trouve sur le site Web de la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP). Les personnes visées doivent faire parvenir leur formulaire dûment rempli, ainsi que leurs documents connexes, à l'adresse suivante :

Directeur général
Direction des activités politiques et de l'impartialité politique
Direction générale des politiques
Commission de la fonction publique
22, rue Eddy
Gatineau (Québec) K1A 0M7

Télécopieur : 819-420-6546

Si la personne satisfait aux exigences, la CFP lui enverra une lettre de confirmation qui servira de preuve d’admissibilité. Cette lettre devra être présentée chaque fois que la personne fait appel à son admissibilité à la mobilité afin de participer à un processus de nomination interne annoncé. Cette règle s’applique uniquement si le processus pour lequel le critère organisationnel fixé en vertu de l'article 34 vise tous les fonctionnaires et si la personne satisfait aux autres critères fixés en vertu de cet article, le cas échéant, comme le critère géographique de la zone de sélection.

Durée de la disposition :

L’admissibilité à participer à tout processus de nomination interne annoncé est valide pour une période d’un an suivant la date de la cessation d'emploi d’une personne au service d’un cabinet de ministre ou du titulaire des charges de leader de l’Opposition au Sénat ou de chef de l’Opposition à la Chambre des communes.

Renseignements :

Pour de plus amples renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec la Direction des activités politiques et de l'impartialité politique de la CFP par téléphone (1-866-707-7152) ou par courriel (CFP.ActivitesPolitiques-PoliticalActivities.PSC@cfp-psc.gc.ca).

Confirmation de l’admissibilité à la mobilité des anciens membres du personnel des cabinets de ministres

Le formulaire est disponible en format PDF (format de document portable), vous pouvez :

  1. soit remplir le formulaire à l'écran, l'imprimer, puis l’envoyer par la poste ou par télécopieur;
  2. soit l’imprimer, remplir les cases à la main, puis l’envoyer par la poste ou par télécopieur.

Nota : Pour obtenir le formulaire dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous au 1-866-707-7152.

Confirmation de l’admissibilité à la mobilité des anciens membres du personnel des cabinets de ministres

Veuillez faire parvenir le formulaire dûment rempli, à l’adresse suivante :

Directeur général
Direction des activités politiques et de l'impartialité politique
Direction générale des politiques
Commission de la fonction publique
22, rue Eddy
Gatineau, (Québec) K1A 0M7

Télécopieur : 819-420-6546