Guidance Document for Participating in Non-Candidacy Political Activities

PDF Version - 563 Kb

The Guidance Document should be used for the following types of non-candidacy related political activities as defined in the political activities provisions (Part 7) of the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA), specifically:
i) any activity in support of, within, or in opposition to, a political party; and
ii) any activity in support of, or in opposition to, a candidate before or during an election period.

The Public Service Commission (PSC) provides guidance to help federal public service employees (employees) assess their specific circumstances and make an informed decision regarding their participation in political activities other than seeking nomination or being a candidate in an election (hereafter referred to as non-candidacy political activities) as defined in the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA). This information is to be used as a guide and is part of a suite of tools developed to raise employees' awareness of their legal rights and responsibilities related to political activities.

Employees' involvement in political activities

Employees that are considering seeking nomination or being a candidate in a federal, provincial, territorial or municipal election, must first obtain permission from the PSC, and, if applicable, a leave without pay from the PSC. Please note that seeking nomination or being a candidate in elections for Indian bands and school boards does not fall under the political activities provisions of the PSEA and should be considered in light of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and the code of conduct of employees' organizations.

The Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms provides all Canadians with “freedom of thought, belief, opinion and expression” and “freedom of association” and states that any restriction should be “only to such reasonable limits prescribed by law as can be demonstrably justified in a free and democratic society.”

Employees' right to engage in political activities at the federal, provincial, territorial or municipal level is recognized in the PSEA. The Act states, “an employee may engage in any political activity so long as it does not impair, or is not perceived as impairing, the employee's ability to perform his or her duties in a politically impartial manner.” Therefore, engaging in a political activity must be examined on a case by case basis and must be balanced with maintaining the principle of a politically impartial federal public service.

Employees do not need permission from the PSC to engage in non-candidacy political activities. However, they are responsible for ensuring that engaging in such activities does not impair, or is not perceived as impairing, their ability to perform their duties in a politically impartial manner. Deputy heads cannot engage in any political activities other than voting in an election. Upholding the non-partisan nature of the public service is the responsibility of all employees, whatever their level and whatever the nature of their duties.

Employees subject to the political activities provisions of the PSEA

The following groups are subject to the political activities provisions:

  1. Employees working in organizations to which the PSC has the authority to make appointments. The political activities provisions of the PSEA apply to all employees, including students, whether appointed indeterminately, for a specified period or on a part-time basis, but do not apply to casual and part-time workers (working less than one-third of the normal scheduled hours of work), contractors and external consultants. However, casual and part-time workers remain subject to the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and to the code of conduct of their organization; and
  2. Employees of the following organizations whose enabling legislation stipulates that they are subject to the political activities provisions of the PSEA: the Canadian Institutes of Health Research, the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre of Canada, the Canada Revenue Agency, the Parks Canada Agency, and the National Film Board. It includes students working in these organizations only if the organization considers that they are employees.

Definition of a non-candidacy political activity

The PSEA defines a non-candidacy “political activity” as:

  • Any activity in support of, within or in opposition to, a political party; or
  • Any activity in support of, or in opposition to, a candidate before or during an election period.

Activities that do not fall under the definition of a political activity in the PSEA, such as speaking out in the media supporting an advocacy group, should be considered in light of the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Sector and the code of conduct of employees' organizations.

Examples of non-candidacy political activities

In addition to voting in a federal, provincial, territorial or municipal election, the following are other examples of non-candidacy political activities:

  • Volunteering or fundraising for a candidate or a political party;
  • Supporting or opposing a candidate or a political party by displaying political material such as a picture, sticker, badge or button, or placing a sign on the lawn;
  • Attending events, meetings, conventions, rallies, or other political gatherings in support of, or in opposition to, a candidate or a political party;
  • Developing promotional material such as writing campaign speeches, slogans and pamphlets for a candidate or a political party;
  • Using blogs, social networking sites, a personal Web site or video sharing to express personal views in support of, or in opposition to, a candidate or a political party.

Political activities must not be conducted during working hours. Employees should also remember to make an informed decision about engaging in political activities, as defined in the PSEA, when such activities are outside of their scheduled working hours or while they are on approved leave, including a leave of absence without pay for other reasons than for candidacy. This will help ensure that the non-partisan nature of the public service is upheld.

Social media and online activities

Social media and online activities provide new challenges for employees in ensuring that their ability to perform their duties in a politically impartial manner is not impaired or perceived to be impaired. Social media has expanded the methods available for employees to exercise their right to engage in political activities. Employees should consider that social media with its broad reach, immediacy and permanence, can blur the distinction between their professional and private lives. When engaging in such political activities, employees may wish to consult the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat's Guideline on Acceptable Network and Device Use.

Factors to consider before engaging in non-candidacy political activities

To make an informed decision about whether to engage in a specific non-candidacy political activity, employees should consider factors such as the following and how they interact with each other in light of their specific circumstances:

  • Nature of the political activity
    • The level of the political activity (federal, provincial, territorial or municipal);
    • The degree of visibility, duration and frequency of the political activity (the extent to which the activity will draw attention to employees and their public service duties); and
    • The degree of association the political activity has with a candidate or a political party.
  • Nature of employees' public service duties
    • The mandate of their organization and the visibility of their position;
    • The type of decision-making authority they have (recommendations, approval or monitoring of contracts for goods and services, subsidies, grants or contributions, involvement in policy development, managerial or supervisory responsibilities);
    • The nature and the extent of their contact with elected officials, residents, businesses or the media located within their municipality or electoral district;
    • Their influence or direct interaction with Ministers and/or their staff.
  • Level and visibility of employees' current public service position
    • Their level in the hierarchy, as a higher level position could potentially denote more influence on decision-making within the organization; therefore engaging in political activities could impair or be perceived as impairing their ability to perform their public service duties in a politically impartial manner;
    • The visibility of their current position, e.g. wearing a uniform or other forms of government identification, using an identified government-owned vehicle, giving work-related media interviews etc., particularly if there are interactions with the public, may result in others associating the person with the position occupied;
    • Their visibility within the community, as employees should keep in mind that outside of a large metropolitan area, they may be more visible, regardless of the group and level of the position they occupy;
  • Personal visibility
    • Their personal or professional visibility in the community combined with participating in non-candidacy political activities could affect or be perceived as affecting their ability to perform their public service duties in a politically impartial manner.

In and of itself, engaging in a political activity may or may not affect or be perceived as affecting employees' ability to perform their public service duties in a politically impartial manner. It is the interplay of all the factors above, including the visibility, duration and frequency of the political activities in which employees wish to engage, that could affect this ability.

For example, volunteering for a political party may not affect or be perceived as affecting employees' ability to perform their public service duties in a politically impartial manner if they have no face-to-face contact with the public, have no signing authority, do not supervise anyone and the work they do for the political party is behind the scenes. However, it could affect or be perceived as affecting this ability if employees have front line exposure to the public, are well known in their small community or the work done for the political party involves media interviews. Members of the public may feel that they are not being served, or will not be served, in a politically impartial manner.

Recommended steps to follow:

  1. Get informed: Employees should complete the anonymous Political Activities Self-Assessment Tool which takes into consideration a specific non-candidacy political activity and provides a rating based on the interplay of the factors listed above.
  2. Consult available resources: Employees may wish to have a discussion about specific circumstances and/or the results from the Political Activities Self-Assessment Tool with management, the organization's Designated Political Activities Representatives or the PSC.
  3. Make an informed decision: Employees need to determine whether engaging in a non-candidacy political activity could impair, or be perceived as impairing, their ability to perform their public service duties in a politically impartial manner.

Allegations of improper political activities

Anyone may make an allegation of improper political activity against an employee. The PSC may investigate any allegation that an employee may have engaged in an improper political activity. If the investigation establishes that there was an improper political activity, the PSC may take any corrective action deemed appropriate.

For more information, employees may visit the Investigations Web page which includes the Framework for Investigations of Improper Political Activities.

Information Sources:

Document d'orientation sur la participation à des activités politiques non liées à une candidature

Version PDF - 556 Ko

Le document d'orientation devrait être utilisé pour les activités politiques suivantes telles que définies dans les dispositions régissant les activités politiques prévues à la partie 7 de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP) plus particulièrement :
i) toute activité exercée au sein d'un parti politique, ou exercée pour soutenir un tel parti ou pour s'y opposer;
ii) toute activité exercée pour soutenir un candidat avant ou pendant la période électorale ou pour s'y opposer.

La Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) fournit de l'orientation aux employés de la fonction publique fédérale (fonctionnaires) pour leur permettre d'évaluer leurs circonstances particulières et de prendre une décision éclairée concernant leur participation à des activités politiques autres que le fait d'être candidat à une élection ou de tenter de le devenir (ci-après désignées par le terme « activités politiques non liées à une candidature ») telles que définies dans la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP). Cette information devrait servir de guide et fait partie d'une gamme d'outils sur les activités politiques conçus pour sensibiliser davantage les fonctionnaires à leurs responsabilités et droits légaux à l'égard des activités politiques.

Participation des fonctionnaires à des activités politiques

Les fonctionnaires qui songent à se porter candidat ou à tenter de le devenir à une élection fédérale, provinciale, territoriale ou municipale doivent d'abord obtenir la permission de la CFP et, s'il y a lieu, un congé sans solde de la CFP. Veuillez noter que le fait d'être candidat ou de tenter de le devenir lors d'élections pour les conseils de bandes indiennes ou des conseils ou commissions scolaires n'est pas régi par les dispositions de la LEFP concernant les activités politiques et devrait être considéré en fonction du Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public et au code de conduite de l'organisation de laquelle relève le fonctionnaire.

La Charte canadienne des droits et libertés stipule que tous les Canadiens ont droit à la « liberté de pensée, de croyance, d'opinion et d'expression » et à la « liberté d'association » et que ces droits « ne peuvent être restreints que par une règle de droit, dans des limites qui soient raisonnables et dont la justification puisse se démontrer dans le cadre d'une société libre et démocratique ».

Le droit des fonctionnaires de se livrer à des activités politiques au niveau fédéral, provincial, territorial ou municipal est reconnu par la LEFP. Cette dernière précise que : « Les fonctionnaires peuvent se livrer à des activités politiques, sauf si celles-ci portent ou semblent porter atteinte à leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions de façon politiquement impartiale ». Par conséquent, la participation à des activités politiques doit être examinée au cas par cas et être contrebalancée par le respect du principe d'impartialité politique de la fonction publique fédérale.

Les fonctionnaires n'ont pas besoin d'obtenir la permission de la CFP pour se livrer à des activités politiques non liées à une candidature. Cependant, ils ont la responsabilité de s'assurer que leur participation à de telles activités ne porte pas atteinte, ou ne semble pas porter atteinte, à leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions de façon politiquement impartiale. Les administrateurs généraux ne peuvent se livrer à aucune activité politique, à l'exception de l'exercice de leur droit de vote lors d'une élection. Le maintien de la nature non partisane de la fonction publique est la responsabilité de tous les fonctionnaires, et ce, peu importe leur niveau hiérarchique et la nature de leurs fonctions.

Fonctionnaires assujettis aux dispositions de la LEFP régissant les activités politiques

Les groupes suivants sont assujettis à ces dispositions :

  1. Les fonctionnaires qui travaillent dans les organisations au sein desquelles la CFP a le pouvoir de faire des nominations. Les dispositions de la LEFP régissant les activités politiques s'appliquent à tout le personnel, y compris les étudiants, qu'ils soient nommés pour une période indéterminée, déterminée ou à temps partiel. Elles ne s'appliquent cependant pas aux employés occasionnels ou à temps partiel (qui travaillent moins que le tiers d'un horaire normal de travail), aux entrepreneurs et aux consultants externes. Toutefois, les employés occasionnels et à temps partiel demeurent assujettis au Code de valeurs et d'éthique du secteur public et au code de conduite de leur organisation.
  2. Les employés des organisations suivantes dont la loi habilitante stipule qu'ils sont assujettis aux dispositions de la LEFP régissant les activités politiques : les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada, le Centre d'analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada, l'Agence du revenu du Canada, l'Agence Parcs Canada, l'Office national du film et Savoir polaire Canada. Les étudiants qui travaillent pour ces organisations sont également assujettis à ces dispositions, seulement si l'organisation considère qu'ils sont fonctionnaires.

Définition d'une activité politique non liée à une candidature

La LEFP définit l'« activité politique » non liée à une candidature comme suit :

  • toute activité exercée au sein d'un parti politique, ou exercée pour soutenir un tel parti ou pour s'y opposer;
  • toute activité exercée pour soutenir un candidat avant ou pendant la période électorale ou pour s'y opposer.

Exemples d'activités politiques non liées à une candidature

Outre l'exercice du droit de vote à une élection fédérale, provinciale, territoriale ou municipale, voici d'autres exemples d'activités politiques non liées à une candidature :

  • le bénévolat ou la participation à des collectes de fonds pour le compte d'un candidat ou d'un parti politique;
  • l'appui ou l'opposition à un candidat ou à un parti politique en affichant du matériel politique comme une photo, un autocollant ou un macaron, ou en plaçant une affiche électorale sur un terrain;
  • la participation à des activités, des réunions, des congrès, des ralliements ou d'autres rassemblements politiques pour soutenir un candidat ou un parti politique, ou pour s'y opposer;
  • l'élaboration de matériel promotionnel pour le compte d'un candidat ou d'un parti politique, telle la rédaction de discours électoraux, de slogans et de dépliants;
  • l'utilisation de blogues, de sites de réseautage social ou d'un site Web personnel, ou la diffusion de vidéos dans le but d'exprimer des opinions personnelles pour soutenir un candidat ou un parti politique, ou pour s'y opposer.

Les activités politiques ne doivent pas être menées pendant les heures de travail. Les fonctionnaires devraient aussi se rappeler de prendre une décision éclairée concernant leur participation à des activités politiques, comme définies dans la LEFP, lorsque de telles activités ont lieu au-delà de leurs heures de travail ou lorsqu'ils sont en congé autorisé, y compris en congé sans solde pour toute autre raison que leur candidature. Cela permettra d'assurer le maintien de la nature non partisane de la fonction publique.

Médias sociaux et activités en ligne

Les médias sociaux et les activités en ligne présentent de nouveaux défis pour les fonctionnaires qui doivent s'assurer que leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions de façon politiquement impartiale n'est pas atteinte ou ne semble pas atteinte par de telles activités. Les médias sociaux ont élargi l'éventail de moyens disponibles aux fonctionnaires leur permettant d'exercer leur droit de se livrer à des activités politiques. Les fonctionnaires devraient tenir compte de la vaste portée, l'instantanéité et la permanence du contenu dans les médias sociaux qui peuvent brouiller la distinction entre leur vie professionnelle et leur vie privée. Lorsqu'ils prennent part à de telles activités politiques, les fonctionnaires pourraient vouloir consulter la Ligne directrice sur l'utilisation acceptable des dispositifs et des réseaux du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor du Canada.

Facteurs à prendre en compte avant de se livrer à des activités politiques non liées à une candidature

Pour prendre une décision éclairée concernant leur participation à une activité politique donnée non liée à une candidature, les fonctionnaires devraient tenir compte de facteurs comme ceux qui suivent et de la façon dont ils interagissent entre eux à la lumière de leurs circonstances particulières :

  • La nature de l'activité politique
    • le palier de gouvernement visé par l'activité politique (fédéral, provincial, territorial ou municipal);
    • le degré de visibilité, ainsi que la durée et la fréquence de l'activité politique (la mesure dans laquelle l'activité attirera l'attention sur les fonctionnaires et leurs fonctions publiques);
    • le degré d'association entre l'activité politique et un candidat ou un parti politique.
  • La nature des fonctions des fonctionnaires
    • le mandat de leur organisation et la visibilité de leur poste;
    • le type de pouvoir décisionnel détenu par ces personnes (recommandations, approbation ou surveillance de contrats de biens et services, subventions ou contributions, participation à l'élaboration de politiques, responsabilités de gestion ou de supervision);
    • la nature et l'ampleur de leurs contacts avec les représentants élus, les résidents, les gens d'affaires ou les médias de leur municipalité ou de leur circonscription électorale;
    • leur influence sur les ministres ou les membres de leur personnel, ou leur interaction directe avec ces derniers.
  • Le niveau et le degré de visibilité du poste actuel des fonctionnaires
    • le niveau de leur poste dans la hiérarchie, car un poste plus élevé pourrait peut-être signifier une plus grande influence sur la prise de décisions au sein de l'organisation; par conséquent, la participation à des activités politiques pourrait porter atteinte ou sembler porter atteinte à leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions publiques de façon politiquement impartiale;
    • la visibilité de leur poste actuel, p. ex. le port d'un uniforme ou d'autres formes d'identification du gouvernement, l'usage d'un véhicule de l'État identifié, la participation à des entrevues liées à leur travail dans les médias, etc., particulièrement s'il y a des interactions avec le public, pourrait faire en sorte que des gens associent la personne au poste qu'elle occupe;
    • leur visibilité dans la communauté, car les fonctionnaires devraient garder à l'esprit que dans les régions à l'extérieur des grandes métropoles, leur degré de visibilité peut être plus élevé, peu importe le groupe et le niveau du poste qu'ils occupent.
  • La visibilité personnelle
    • Leur visibilité personnelle ou professionnelle dans la communauté combinée avec la participation à des activités politiques non liées à une candidature pourrait porter atteinte ou sembler porter atteinte à leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions publiques de façon politiquement impartiale.

En soi, la participation à une activité politique peut porter atteinte ou sembler porter atteinte à la capacité des fonctionnaires d'exercer leurs fonctions publiques de façon politiquement impartiale, ou peut ne pas y porter atteinte ou ne pas sembler y porter atteinte. C'est l'interaction de tous les facteurs précités, y compris la visibilité, la durée et la fréquence des activités politiques auxquelles les fonctionnaires désirent se livrer, qui pourrait porter atteinte à cette capacité.

Par exemple, il se peut que le bénévolat pour un parti politique ne porte pas atteinte ou ne semble pas porter atteinte à la capacité des fonctionnaires d'exercer leurs fonctions publiques de façon politiquement impartiale s'ils ne rencontrent pas le public en personne, s'ils n'ont pas de pouvoir de signature, s'ils n'ont aucun employé sous leur supervision et s'ils travaillent dans les coulisses du parti politique. Toutefois, leur participation pourrait porter atteinte ou sembler porter atteinte à cette capacité si les fonctionnaires travaillent en première ligne avec le public, s'ils sont bien connus au sein de leur petite collectivité ou si leur travail au sein du parti politique comprend des entrevues avec les médias. Les membres du public pourraient avoir l'impression qu'ils ne sont ou ne seront pas servis de façon politiquement impartiale.

Les étapes qu'il est recommandé de suivre :

  1. Se renseigner : Les fonctionnaires devraient se servir de l'Outil d'autoévaluation des activités politiques anonyme qui prend en considération une activité politique donnée non liée à une candidature et lui attribue une cote en fonction de l'interaction entre les facteurs précités.
  2. Consulter les ressources disponibles : Il se peut que les fonctionnaires souhaitent discuter de leurs circonstances particulières et/ou du résultat obtenu avec l'Outil d'autoévaluation des activités politiques avec la gestion, le représentant désigné en matière d'activités politiques de leur organisation ou la CFP.
  3. Prendre une décision éclairée : Les fonctionnaires doivent déterminer si leur participation à une activité politique non liée à une candidature pourrait porter atteinte, ou sembler porter atteinte, à leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions publiques de façon politiquement impartiale.

Allégations d'activités politiques irrégulières

Quiconque peut présenter une allégation d'activités politiques irrégulières à l'encontre d'un fonctionnaire. La CFP peut mener une enquête sur toute allégation d'activité politique irrégulière entreprise par un fonctionnaire. Si, à la suite de l'enquête, il est établit qu'une activité politique irrégulière a été exercée, la CFP peut prendre toute mesure corrective jugée appropriée.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, les fonctionnaires peuvent consulter la page Web sur les Enquêtes sur les activités politiques qui comprend le Cadre des enquêtes relatives aux activités politiques irrégulières

Sources d'information :