Launch of Fall 2009 Federal Student Work Experience Program Campaign
(09-12)

Notice

The Public Service Commission has moved since this document was first published and therefore the address and telephone numbers indicated may no longer be accurate. Please consult the Contact Us page for up-to-date contact information.


2009-10-01

Contact: Joanne Lalonde, Director General, National Client Services, Staffing and Assessment Services Branch

The Public Service Commission (PSC) will launch its fall Federal Student Work Experience Program (FSWEP) campaign on October 19, 2009.

FSWEP provides managers with access to an inventory of students for temporary job placements — either part-time during academic and non-academic terms or full-time during non-academic terms (e.g. summer breaks). This inventory consists of highly motivated Canadian students in more than 350 academic disciplines from high schools, colleges and universities across the country.

Hiring organizations can request referrals from the FSWEP inventory on the basis of employment equity criteria, education/field of study and skills. It is also possible to re-employ students until the end of their full-time studies. An updated list of skills is available to facilitate the selection of students.

Request for referrals and Request for re-employment forms can be found on the PSC Web site.

Organizations can create advertisements to be posted on the PSC’s website for those available positions that aim to meet particular staffing requirements. If interested, please contact the PSC at FSWEPLL@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Managers who plan to use student recruitment as part of their long-term recruitment strategy can benefit from the potential to bridge students into term or indeterminate positions upon the completion of their studies. This mechanism applies to students who have demonstrated through their work assignments that they would be an asset for the organization. Please consult the PSC Web site for further information on the bridging mechanism.

The PSC reaffirms its commitment to supporting federal organizations. We strongly encourage departments and agencies to take advantage of this recruitment approach to help meet the renewal objectives of the public service.

Campaign timelines

Federal departments and agencies will not have access to the FSWEP inventory between October 17 and October 25, 2009. This measure provides the time needed to complete this year's campaign and create the new student inventory.

The fall campaign - for student registration only - will begin October 19, 2009.

The FSWEP inventory will be available to organizations on October 26, 2009.

Who to call

For more information about the campaign, please contact Ginette Auger, Manager, Student Programs, at 613-947-9757 or at ginette.auger@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Additional information on FSWEP is available on the PSC Web site.

Joanne Lalonde
Director General
National Client Services
Staffing and Assessment Services Branch

c.c: Chiefs of Staffing

Lancement de la Campagne de recrutement de l'automne 2009 du Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant
(09–12)

Avis

Les bureaux de la Commission de la fonction publique sont déménagés depuis la publication de ce document. Par conséquent, il se peut que l'adresse et les numéros de téléphone indiqués ne soient plus pertinents. Pour l'information mise à jour, veuillez consulter la page Contactez-nous.


2009-10-01

Personne-ressources : Joanne Lalonde, Directrice générale, Services à la clientèle nationale, Direction générale des services de dotation et d'évaluation

La Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) lancera sa campagne de l’automne du Programme fédéral d'expérience de travail étudiant (PFETE) le 19 octobre 2009.

Le PFETE donne aux gestionnaires l'accès à un répertoire d'étudiants pour doter des postes temporaires à temps partiel, durant ou après l'année scolaire, ou à temps plein en été. Ce répertoire renferme les noms d'étudiants très motivés dans plus de 350 disciplines qui fréquentent des établissements d’enseignement aux niveaux secondaire, collégial ou universitaire dans toutes les régions du Canada.

Les organismes d'embauche peuvent faire une demande de présentations à partir du répertoire du PFETE, en fonction de critères relatifs à l'équité en matière d'emploi, aux études, à la spécialisation et aux compétences. Il est également possible de réembaucher les étudiants jusqu'à la fin de leur programme d'études à plein temps. Une liste des compétences à jour est disponible afin de faciliter la sélection d’étudiants.

Les formulaires de demande de présentations et de demande de réemploi se trouvent sur le site Web de la CFP.

Les organismes peuvent créer une affiche pour annoncer sur le site Web de la CFP les possibilités d’emploi visant à répondre à des besoins particuliers de dotation. Pour ce faire, veuillez communiquer avec la CFP par courriel au FSWEPLL@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Les gestionnaires qui prévoient recourir aux étudiants pour leur stratégie de recrutement à long terme peuvent intégrer à la fin de leurs études des étudiants dans des postes de durée déterminée ou pour une période indéterminée. Cette possibilité est offerte aux étudiants qui ont démontré, durant leurs affectations de travail, qu'ils seraient un atout pour l'organisation. Consultez le site Web de la CFP pour obtenir plus d'information sur ce mécanisme d'intégration.

La CFP réitère son engagement à soutenir les organisations fédérales. Elle encourage fortement les ministères et organismes fédéraux à tirer parti de cette démarche de recrutement pour leur permettre d'atteindre les objectifs de renouvellement de la fonction publique.

Calendrier de la campagne

Les ministères et organismes du gouvernement fédéral n'auront pas accès au répertoire du PFETE du 17 au 25 octobre 2009 afin de nous permettre de terminer la campagne 2008 et d'établir un nouveau répertoire d'étudiants.

La campagne débutera le 19 octobre 2009 pour l'inscription des étudiants seulement. Les organisations auront accès au répertoire du PFETE à compter du 26 octobre 2009.

Personne-ressource

Pour en savoir davantage sur la campagne de l'automne 2009, veuillez communiquer avec Ginette Auger, gestionnaire, Programmes étudiants au 613-947-9757, ou par courriel à Ginette.Auger@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur le PFETE, consultez le site Web de la CFP.

Joanne Lalonde
Directrice générale
Services à la clientèle nationale
Direction générale des services de dotation et d'évaluation

c.c. : Chefs de la dotation