Communiqué from the President to Deputy Heads on the Alberta Provincial Election (08-03)

Notice

The Public Service Commission has moved since this document was first published and therefore the address and telephone numbers indicated may no longer be accurate. Please consult the Contact Us page for up-to-date contact information.


2008-02-12

Contact persons: pa-ap@cfp-psc.gc.ca - 613-992-9620 or 1-866-707-7152

The following message was sent to Deputy Heads on February 8, 2008.

Provincial Election Announcement: Political Candidacy and Activities of Employees

February 8, 2008

To Deputy Heads

The Public Service Commission (PSC) is responsible for safeguarding the values of a professional public service and overseeing the regime governing political activities of public servants as set out in the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA). With the recent announcement of a general election in Alberta to be held on March 3, 2008, I would like to take the opportunity to remind you of the requirements for employees who wish to seek nomination as, and be candidates in elections or to engage in any other political activities. These statutory provisions exist to protect the impartiality of the public service.

The PSEA provides a regime for governing the political activities of employees which recognizes the need to balance the rights of employees to engage in political activities with the principle of political impartiality in the federal public service. Employees are permitted to engage in political activity as long as it does not impair, or is not perceived to impair, their ability to perform their duties in a politically impartial manner. Under the PSEA, political activities include:

  1. carrying on any activity in support of, within or in opposition to a political party;
  2. carrying on any activity in support of or in opposition to a candidate before or during an election period; or
  3. seeking nomination as or being a candidate in an election before or during the election period.

Political candidacy

The PSEA clearly states that an employee who wishes to seek nomination as, and be a candidate in a federal, provincial, territorial or municipal election must request and obtain permission and a leave of absence without pay (LWOP), if applicable, from the PSC. The PSC will grant permission and any applicable leave if it is satisfied that this will neither impair, nor be perceived to impair, the employee's ability to perform his or her duties in a politically impartial manner.

Employees who wish to seek a nomination as, and be a candidate in the upcoming Alberta provincial election must submit their request to the PSC no later than 30 days before the date they require a decision from the PSC. Until the employee has received, from the PSC, permission and LWOP during the election period, no registration or declaration of candidacy or related activities may be undertaken. Employees will find on the PSC Web site the submission procedure
http://www.psc-cfp.gc.ca/plac-acpl/leave-conge/index-eng.htm that describes what must be included in a request to obtain PSC permission.

As part of this process, the employees of your organization who wish to seek nomination as or be a candidate in an election will ask you to fill out the "Deputy Head's (DH) Input Form". This is your opportunity to describe any operational impacts on your organization that are, or could be, anticipated if the employee seeks nomination as, or is a candidate before and during the election period and to assess the employee's ability to perform his or her public service duties in a politically impartial manner before and during the election period. The comments that you will provide regarding your employees' requests are an important part of the PSC review process; you should therefore ensure that you provide thorough comments, in a timely fashion. Please note that you should not delegate the provision of these comments except under exceptional circumstances.

The PSC will only consider requests that include the necessary information, including your completed "DH's Input Form". Employees risk a delay in receiving a decision from the PSC if their submission is incomplete.

Guidance on candidacy and other political activities

A guidance document and a self-assessment tool are available on the PSC Web site
http://www.psc-cfp.gc.ca/plac-acpl/guidance-direction-eng.htm to help employees who may consider becoming candidates or engaging in any other kinds of political activity. Bearing in mind the above definition of a political activity, such undertakings must not impair or be perceived to impair an employee's ability to perform his or her duties in a politically impartial manner. When unsure if a political activity they wish to engage in is problematic, employees are encouraged to discuss their specific circumstances with their manager, and/or the designated political activities representative of your organization.

Allegations and investigations

Any person may make an allegation to the PSC that an employee has sought to be elected without prior permission and/or leave from the PSC, or has engaged in other political activity that impairs or is perceived as impairing the employee's ability to perform his or her duties in a politically impartial manner. The PSEA provides for the PSC to investigate such allegations. If the allegation is founded, the PSC may take any corrective action that it considers appropriate, including dismissing the employee.

Deputy heads' responsibilities

The PSEA makes clear that DHs shall not engage in any political activity other than voting.

With respect to their employees, the role of DHs is to:

  • inform them of the requirements for seeking nomination as or being a candidate in an election;
  • provide the employee who requests permission to seek nomination as, and be a candidate with a completed "DH's Input Form" in a timely manner, in order to complete the employee's request to be submitted to the PSC;
  • ensure any workplace requirements imposed by the PSC regarding a request for permission to seek nomination as, and be a candidate are respected;
  • provide assistance to the PSC when it conducts an investigation;
  • implement corrective measures prescribed by the PSC when an allegation is founded; and
  • ensure that employees comply with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service or, in cases where the Treasury Board is not the employer, the applicable organizational code.

The PSC can provide guidance and assistance to DHs in fulfilling these obligations.

You will find attached a letter for employees which deals with both political candidacy and political activities. Please ensure that it is forwarded to employees in your organization.

More information

Additional details can be obtained from the designated political activities representative in your organization. A list of designated political activities representatives and their contact information can be found at:
(http://www.psc-cfp.gc.ca/plac-acpl/pol-cont-eng.htm)

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at 613-992-2788.

Thank you in advance for your attention to this matter.

Maria Barrados, PhD
President
Public Service Commission

Communiqué to Employees

c.c: Chiefs of Staffing

Communiqué de la présidente aux administratrices générales et administrateurs généraux concernant les élections provinciales en Alberta (08-03)

Avis

Les bureaux de la Commission de la fonction publique sont déménagés depuis la publication de ce document. Par conséquent, il se peut que l'adresse et les numéros de téléphone indiqués ne soient plus pertinents. Pour l'information mise à jour, veuillez consulter la page Contactez-nous.


2008-02-12

Personnes-ressources : pa-ap@cfp-psc.gc.ca - 613-992-9620 ou 1-866-707-7152

Le message ci-dessous a été envoyé le 8 février 2008 aux administratrices générales et aux administrateurs généraux.

Déclenchement d'élections provinciales : candidatures aux élections et autres activités politiques des fonctionnaires

Le 8 février 2008

Aux administratrices générales et aux administrateurs généraux

La Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) est chargée de protéger les valeurs qui sous-tendent une fonction publique professionnelle et de surveiller le régime régissant les activités politiques des fonctionnaires aux termes de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP). À la suite de l'annonce récente d'élections générales en Alberta qui auront lieu le 3 mars 2008, je voudrais saisir l'occasion pour vous rappeler les exigences relatives aux fonctionnaires désireux d'être candidat ou candidate à une élection, ou de tenter de le devenir, et celles qui s'appliquent à quiconque désire se livrer à des activités politiques. Ces dispositions légales visent à protéger l'impartialité de la fonction publique.

La LEFP prévoit un régime visant à régir les activités politiques des fonctionnaires et qui reconnaît la nécessité de trouver un juste équilibre entre le droit de ceux-ci de se livrer à des activités politiques et le principe de l'impartialité de la fonction publique fédérale. Les fonctionnaires peuvent se livrer à des activités politiques dans la mesure où celles-ci ne portent pas atteinte ou ne semblent pas porter atteinte à leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions de façon politiquement impartiale. Aux termes de la LEFP, les activités politiques incluent :

  1. toute activité exercée au sein d'un parti politique, ou exercée pour soutenir un tel parti ou pour s'y opposer;
  2. toute activité exercée pour soutenir un candidat avant ou pendant la période électorale ou pour s'y opposer;
  3. le fait d'être candidat à une élection ou de tenter de le devenir, avant ou pendant la période électorale.

Fonctionnaires désireux d'être choisis comme candidat

La LEFP énonce clairement que les fonctionnaires désireux d'être candidat ou candidate, ou de tenter de le devenir, à une élection fédérale, provinciale, territoriale ou municipale doivent faire une demande et obtenir la permission et un congé sans solde (CSS), selon le cas, de la CFP. Cette dernière peut leur accorder la permission et le CSS selon le cas, si elle est convaincue que cela ne portera pas atteinte ni ne semblera porter atteinte à leur capacité d'exercer leurs fonctions de façon politiquement impartiale.

Les fonctionnaires qui désirent être candidat ou candidate, ou tenter de le devenir, lors de la prochaine élection provinciale en Alberta, doivent présenter leur demande à la CFP au plus tard 30 jours avant la date à laquelle ils souhaitent obtenir une décision. Tant que la personne visée n'a pas reçu de la CFP la permission et le CSS pendant la période électorale, elle ne pourra ni inscrire ni annoncer sa candidature, ni entreprendre des activités connexes. Les fonctionnaires trouveront sur le site Web de la CFP la procédure pour présenter une demande
(http://www.psc-cfp.gc.ca/plac-acpl/leave-conge/index-fra.htm). On y décrit ce qui doit faire partie de la demande pour obtenir la permission de la CFP.

Dans le cadre de cette procédure, les fonctionnaires de votre organisation qui désirent être candidat ou candidate à une élection ou tenter de le devenir vont vous demander de remplir le « Formulaire de commentaires de l'administratrice générale ou de l'administrateur général ». C'est l'occasion de décrire l'incidence opérationnelle, actuelle ou anticipée, que pourrait avoir sur votre organisation le fait pour la personne d'être candidate ou candidat, ou de tenter de le devenir, avant et pendant la période électorale. Vous devrez aussi évaluer sa capacité d'exercer ses fonctions de façon politiquement impartiale avant et pendant la période électorale. Les commentaires que vous fournirez concernant les demandes de vos fonctionnaires constituent une part intégrante de l'information dont la CFP tiendra compte dans son examen; vous devriez donc vous assurer de fournir des commentaires détaillés en temps opportun. Veuillez noter que vous ne devriez pas déléguer la prestation de ces commentaires à moins qu'il s'agisse de circonstances exceptionnelles.

La CFP examinera seulement les demandes accompagnées de tous les documents dûment remplis, y compris le « Formulaire de l'administratrice générale ou de l'administrateur général ». La décision de la CFP concernant une demande risque d'être retardée si l'information fournie est incomplète.

Orientation concernant les mises en candidature et les autres activités politiques

Un document d'orientation et un outil d'auto-évaluation se trouvent sur le site Web de la CFP (http://www.psc-cfp.gc.ca/plac-acpl/guidance-direction-fra.htm). Ils s'adressent aux fonctionnaires désireux d'être choisis comme candidat ou candidate ou qui songent à se livrer à des activités politiques. En gardant à l'esprit la définition d'activité politique, le fait de prendre part à de telles activités ne doit pas porter atteinte ou ne pas donner l'impression de porter atteinte à la capacité des fonctionnaires d'exercer leurs fonctions de façon politiquement impartiale. Lorsque les fonctionnaires sont incertains si l'activité politique à laquelle ils veulent s'adonner pose des problèmes, ceux-ci sont invités à discuter des circonstances particulières avec leur gestionnaire et/ou la personne responsable des activités politiques au sein de leur organisation.

Allégations et enquêtes

Toute personne peut alléguer auprès de la CFP qu'une ou un fonctionnaire a tenté de se faire élire sans avoir obtenu au préalable la permission ou le congé de la CFP ou s'est livré à une activité politique qui porte ou semble porter atteinte à sa capacité d'exercer ses fonctions de façon politiquement impartiale. En vertu de la LEFP, la CFP peut mener une enquête sur toute allégation. Si l'allégation est fondée, la CFP peut prendre toute mesure corrective qu'elle juge appropriée, y compris la destitution de la personne visée.

Responsabilités des administratrices générales et administrateurs généraux

La LEFP énonce clairement que les activités politiques des administratrices générales et administrateurs généraux se limitent à l'exercice du droit de vote.

En ce qui a trait aux questions touchant les activités politiques de leurs fonctionnaires, il incombe aux administratrices générales et administrateurs généraux :

  • d'informer leurs fonctionnaires des exigences liées au fait d'être candidat ou candidate à une élection ou de tenter de le devenir;
  • de remplir et remettre en temps opportun au ou à la fonctionnaire le « Formulaire de l'administratrice générale ou de l'administrateur général » pour compléter la demande que le ou la fonctionnaire doit présenter à la CFP;
  • de s'assurer que toutes les exigences imposées par la CFP, relativement à la demande de permission d'être candidat ou candidate ou de tenter de le devenir, sont respectées;
  • de prêter assistance à la CFP lorsque celle-ci mène une enquête;
  • de mettre en œuvre les mesures correctives prescrites par la CFP lorsqu'une allégation s'avère fondée;
  • de s'assurer que les fonctionnaires respectent le Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique ou, dans les cas où le Conseil du Trésor n'est pas l'employeur, le code organisationnel en vigueur.

Pour s'acquitter de ces obligations, les administratrices générales et administrateurs généraux peuvent demander des conseils et de l'aide à la CFP, au besoin.

Vous trouverez ci-joint une lettre aux fonctionnaires qui traite des mises en candidature et des activités politiques. Veuillez vous assurer de la transmettre aux fonctionnaires de votre organisation.

Pour en savoir davantage

La personne responsable des activités politiques au sein de votre organisation peut vous fournir tout renseignement supplémentaire. Vous trouverez la liste de ces personnes ainsi que leurs coordonnées à l'adresse suivante :
(http://www.psc-cfp.gc.ca/plac-acpl/pol-cont-fra.htm)

Si vous avez des questions sur ce qui précède, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec moi en composant le 613-992-2788.

Je vous remercie à l'avance de l'attention que vous porterez à cette question.

La présidente,
Commission de la fonction publique

Maria Barrados, Ph. D.

Communiqué aux employés

c.c. Chefs de la dotation