Advertised vs. Non-Advertised Appointments for collective staffing processes (08-02)

Notice

The Public Service Commission has moved since this document was first published and therefore the address and telephone numbers indicated may no longer be accurate. Please consult the Contact Us page for up-to-date contact information.


2008-01-29

Contact persons: Jennifer Miles, Director, Regulations and Legislation Division, Policy Branch (613) 947-0716

I am writing further to our recent Note to Deputy Heads (copied to Heads of Human Resources (HR) ) on Advertising in the Appointment Process and in response to questions raised from within the HR community about advertised versus non-advertised appointments in the context of the collective staffing processes.

While the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA) does not contain a specific reference to collective staffing processes, the Public Service Commission's (PSC) Appointment Framework applies to all appointments made under the PSEA, including appointments made as a result of a collective staffing process.

Collective staffing processes enable managers to use one staffing process to fill several positions within or between organizations. By using a collective effort, managers can save time and resources by establishing a pool of qualified candidates from which appointments can be made.

Advertised and Non-Advertised Appointments in the Context of Collective Staffing Processes

To maximize flexibility, managers can make advertised appointments from a pool if the advertisement includes information clearly indicating how, by whom; and for what occupational groups and/or level(s) the results of the collective appointment process may be used. For example, an advertisement for a collective appointment process could state that:

  • The results of this appointment process may be used to fill similar positions at the EX-1 level across the federal public service; or
  • The results of this appointment process may be used to fill similar positions at the PE-06 level within the Public Service Commission and Canada Public Service Agency.

Corresponding appointments from the pool should also be aligned with the area of selection identified in the job advertisement.

When appointments (i.e. the first and all subsequent appointments) made from the pool are consistent with the information provided in the advertisement, they are considered advertised appointments.

Managers can make appointments in cases where the information regarding the position, level or organization has not been included in the advertisement; however, the ensuing appointment(s) is considered non-advertised. The non-advertised appointment is based on the assessment made during the advertised collective staffing process, but is an independent appointment process. The decision to use a non-advertised process should be linked to the organization's HR plan and include a written rationale demonstrating how a non-advertised process meets the established criteria and appointment values.

I trust that this clarification will serve to support all departments and agencies in providing timely, complete and accurate quarterly staffing reports to the PSC on Advertising, National Area of Selection and Post-Secondary Recruitment. Additional information on these requirements is provided in our recent Letter to HR on PSC Post-Secondary Recruitment Reporting Requirements for 2007-2008 and includes reporting templates.

Should you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Jennifer Miles, Director, Regulations and Legislation Division at (613) 947-0716 or jennifer.miles@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Jean Ste-Marie
Senior Vice-President
Policy Branch

c.c.: Chiefs of Staffing

Nominations annoncées et nominations non annoncées pour les processus de dotation collective (08 -02)

Avis

Les bureaux de la Commission de la fonction publique sont déménagés depuis la publication de ce document. Par conséquent, il se peut que l'adresse et les numéros de téléphone indiqués ne soient plus pertinents. Pour l'information mise à jour, veuillez consulter la page Contactez-nous.


2008-01-29

Personnes-ressources : Jennifer Miles, Directrice, Division des règlements et de la législation, Direction générale des politiques 613-947-0716

La présente fait suite à la note que nous avons fait parvenir récemment aux administrateurs généraux et aux administratrices générales sur L'annonce dans le processus de nomination (en copie conforme aux chefs des ressources humaines RH)). Nous tenterons ici de répondre à des questions soulevées par des personnes de la collectivité des RH au sujet des processus annoncés par opposition aux processus non annoncés dans le contexte de la dotation collective.

Bien que la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP) ne contienne pas de référence particulière aux processus de dotation collective, le Cadre de nomination de la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) s'applique à toutes les nominations faites en vertu de la LEFP, notamment les nominations faites à la suite d'un processus de dotation collective.

Les processus de dotation collective permettent aux gestionnaires d'avoir recours à un seul processus de dotation pour combler plusieurs postes au sein des organisations et entre celles-ci. En se servant du processus de dotation collective, les gestionnaires peuvent économiser du temps et des ressources puisque cela leur permet d'établir un bassin de candidats et candidates qualifiés à partir duquel des nominations peuvent être faites.

Nominations annoncées et non annoncées dans le contexte des processus de dotation collective

Pour maximiser leur marge de manœuvre, les gestionnaires peuvent faire des nominations annoncées à partir d'un bassin de personnes qualifiées si l'annonce comprend de l'information indiquant clairement comment, par qui, et pour quel(s) groupe(s) professionnel(s) et/ou niveau(x) les résultats du processus de dotation collective peuvent être utilisés. À titre d'exemple, une annonce dans un processus de nomination collective pourrait indiquer que :

  • Les résultats de ce processus de nomination peuvent être utilisés pour combler des postes similaires au niveau EX-1 à l'échelle de toute la fonction publique fédérale ou encore
  • Les résultats de ce processus de nomination peuvent être utilisés pour combler des postes similaires au niveau PE-06 au sein de la Commission de la fonction publique et de l'Agence de la fonction publique du Canada.

Les nominations faites à partir du bassin doivent également respecter la zone de sélection mentionnée dans l'annonce d'emploi.

Quand les nominations (par exemple la première et toutes les nominations subséquentes) faites à partir du bassin correspondent à l'information fournie dans l'annonce, on les considère comme des nominations annoncées.

Les gestionnaires peuvent faire des nominations dans les cas où l'information concernant le poste, le niveau ou l'organisation n'a pas été incluse dans l'annonce. Le cas échéant cependant, la nomination ou les nominations qui s'ensuivent sont considérées comme non annoncées. La nomination non annoncée est basée sur l'évaluation faite durant le processus de dotation collective annoncée mais il s'agit d'un processus de nomination indépendant. La décision d'avoir recours à un processus non annoncé devrait être liée au plan des RH de l'organisation et inclure un justificatif écrit faisant état de la façon dont le processus non annoncé satisfait aux critères établis et aux valeurs de nomination.

Je suis persuadée que cette explication aidera tous les ministères et organismes à fournir en temps opportun à la CFP des rapports de dotation trimestriels complets et exacts sur les annonces d'emploi, la zone nationale de sélection et le recrutement postsecondaire. Notre dernière lettre aux chefs des RH Exigences en matière de rapports relatifs au Recrutement postsecondaire 2007-2008 de la Commission de la fonction publique renferme d'autres renseignements concernant ces exigences, y compris des modèles de rapports.

Pour toute question, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec Jennifer Miles, Directrice, Division des règlements et de la législation au 613-947-0716 ou à l'adresse jennifer.miles@cfp-psc.gc.ca.

Jean Ste-Marie
Vice-président principal
Direction générale des politiques

c.c. Chefs de la dotation