Political Activities Investigations

Under the Public Service Employment Act (PSEA) the Public Service Commission (PSC) has a role in overseeing the political impartiality of the federal public service. The PSC can investigate allegations of improper political activities by employees and deputy heads.

About the Investigations Branch

The PSC's IB receives allegations of improper political activities by public servants, determines if an investigation will be initiated and conducts the investigation.

The IB staff has expertise in the public service system and knowledge of public service organizations. Investigations are conducted in a timely manner, using fair and thorough techniques to produce clear and concise reports.

Submitting an allegation

Allegations of improper political activity concerning an employee or a deputy head may be submitted in any format to the office below. The information should indicate the name and address of the person submitting the allegation, the name and department of the person against whom the allegation is made and a description of the alleged contravention.

Director's Office
Jurisdiction Directorate
Investigations Branch
Public Service Commission
22 Eddy Street
Gatineau Qu├ębec K1A 0M7

Telephone: 819-420-8924
Facsimile: 819-420-8801
E-mail: CFP.Enquetes-Investigations.PSC@cfp-psc.gc.ca

The Public Service Commission (PSC) has recently moved and our fax machines are not currently available. Any new requests to investigate or other information intended to be transmitted to the Investigations Branch should be sent via e-mail or regular mail. Please contact us at 819-420-8924 should this cause any difficulties.

Political Activities Regulations

The Public Service Commission, pursuant to section 22 of the Public Service Employment Act has made Regulations concerning political activities of public servants. These Regulations provide information on requesting permission to seek nomination as a candidate in elections and the time periods involved. These Regulations also provide information on the time frame for submitting allegations of improper political activities, the format of the allegation, the investigation and disclosure of information obtained in the conduct of an investigation.

Other Information About Political Activities

For other information about political activities (general information, guides, how to request leave to be a candidate) please consult the Political Activities section of the PSC website.

Enquêtes sur les activités politiques

En vertu de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP) la Commission de la fonction publique (CFP) se voit dotée de responsabilités plus importantes pour ce qui est de la surveillance de l'impartialité politique de la fonction publique fédérale. La CFP peut enquêter sur des allégations d'activités politiques irrégulières menées par des fonctionnaires et par des administrateurs généraux ou des administratrices générales.

Au sujet de la Direction générale des enquêtes

La Direction DGE de la CFP reçoit les allégations d'activités politiques irrégulières menées par des fonctionnaires; elle détermine si une enquête sera lancée et mène l'enquête.

Les employés de la DGE possèdent une expertise appréciable des rouages de l'administration publique et connaissent bien les organismes de la fonction publique. Les enquêtes sont réalisées dans des délais opportuns, grâce à des techniques justes et compréhensives, et la DGE établit des rapports d'enquête clairs et concis.

Présenter une allégation

Les allégations concernant les activités politiques irrégulières présumées d'un ou d'une fonctionnaire ou d'un administrateur général ou d'une administratrice générale, peuvent être soumises, quelle que soit la forme, au bureau ci-dessous. L'information devrait comprendre le nom et l'adresse de la personne qui présente l'allégation, le nom de la personne visée par l'allégation et le ministère donné ainsi qu'une description de la contravention alléguée.

Bureau du Directeur
Gestion de la compétence
Direction générale des enquêtes
Commission de la fonction publique
22, rue Eddy
Gatineau (Québec)  K1A 0M7

Téléphone : 819-420-8924
Télécopieur : 819-420-8801
Courriel : CFP.Enquetes-Investigations.PSC@cfp-psc.gc.ca

Règlement concernant les activités politiques

En vertu de l'article 22 de la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique, la Commission de la fonction publique a élaboré un règlement concernant les activités politiques des fonctionnaires. Ce règlement contient des renseignements sur la façon de procéder pour demander l'autorisation de présenter sa candidature à des élections, et sur les prescriptions applicables. Ce règlement fournit également des renseignements sur les délais prescrits pour présenter les allégations concernant des activités politiques irrégulières, la façon de présenter les allégations, sur les enquêtes et sur la divulgation de renseignements obtenus dans le cadre d'une enquête.

Autres renseignements sur les activités politiques

Pour plus de renseignements sur les activités politiques (renseignements généraux, guides, comment demander congé pour présenter sa candidature), veuillez consulter la section Activités politiques du site Web de la CFP.