Appendix A

PSC Audit Code of Professional Conduct

Introduction

The Public Service Commission (PSC) of Canada is an independent agency reporting to Parliament. Under the current Public Service Employment Act (PSEA) and the new PSEA, which received Royal Assent in 2003 and which is scheduled to come into force by the end of 2005, the PSC is vested with the authority to make appointments to and within the federal Public Service. The new PSEA states in its preamble that the delegation of this authority should be to a level as low as possible within departments and agencies, to give Public Service managers the necessary flexibility to staff, manage and lead their personnel to achieve results for Canadians.

While both the current and new PSEA give the PSC the authority to conduct audits on any matter within its jurisdiction, the new PSEA provides the PSC further authority to audit and make recommendations on the exercise of authority by deputy heads in setting qualifications, requirements and needs. Furthermore, under the new PSEA, appointments continue to be subject to the policies of the PSC.

It is within this context of the increased delegation of authorities to departments that the PSC is strengthening its audit function, which is carried out by the Audit and Data Services Branch.

The PSC Audit Code of Professional Conduct adds to the professional discipline required in the conduct of PSC audits. Along with the PSC audit and other policies, it guides Audit and Data Services Branch employees on a daily basis. This Code links closely with the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service, to which all public servants must adhere.

Application

The PSC Audit Code of Professional Conduct applies to all auditors within the Audit and Data Services Branch and to those PSC employees and contractors who may be involved in the conduct of an audit. Within the Audit and Data Services Branch, auditors include all audit employees of the Audit Operations Directorate and the Audit Policies and Quality Assurance Directorate, the Director Generals and the Vice-President, as well as individuals who are seconded to or on interchange with the PSC. Employees who feel that all or part of this Code should not apply to them should raise the matter with their supervisor. The general reporting line for employee concerns with the Code is to his or her supervisor. The President of the PSC has the sole authority to make exemptions from the application of this Code.

The Audit and Data Services Branch encourages all of its auditors to view themselves as professionals, in the sense that they aspire to high standards in the fulfillment of their employment duties and take pride in their accomplishments.

Effective Date

This Code is effective as of March 31, 2005 .

Responsibilities, Authorities and Accountabilities

In addition to the requirements outlined in this Code, Audit and Data Services Branch auditors are required to observe any specific conduct and other requirements contained in the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service, in the Public Service Employment Act, the Financial Administration Act, and other acts, regulations and statutes which pertain to their employment, including the:

  • Access to Information Act;
  • Canada Labour Code, Part II;
  • Criminal Code of Canada ;
  • Official Languages Act and Regulations;
  • Privacy Act;
  • Public Service Labour Relations Act (formerly the Public Service Staff Relations Act); and
  • other applicable statutes.

The PSEA is the enabling legislation for the Audit and Data Services Branch and its activities. All Audit and Data Services Branch activities must be justifiable by reference to the terms and conditions of the PSEA and any other legislation that confers responsibilities on the PSC.

Audit and Data Services Branch manuals setting out audit policies, standards and practices should be referred to in the performance of audits.

Audit Requirements

1. Audit Objectivity

Auditors should not prejudge an entity being audited. They should conduct audits with objectivity. Auditors should not only be objective, they should be perceived to be so.

The validity of the work of the Audit and Data Services Branch and the confidence placed in it by the PSC, entities being audited and Parliament depend, in large measure, on their perception of the objectivity of the Audit and Data Services Branch. Therefore, objectivity is a crucial characteristic of the relationship between the auditor and the audited organization. It ensures that the auditor's findings and reports will be influenced only by evidence obtained and assembled in accordance with the audit policies, standards and practices of the Audit and Data Services Branch, as set out in professional pronouncements, Audit and Data Services Branch manuals and related methodology.

Measures to prevent conflict of interest

The Audit and Data Services Branch is particularly vulnerable to allegations of conflict of interest, whether actual, potential or perceived, because they can call into question the objectivity and competence of the Audit and Data Services Branch to pass impartial judgement. These attributes are essential to the success of the work of the Audit and Data Services Branch. Since the reputation of the Audit and Data Services Branch is based upon a number of factors, which include the public's perception of its work, an appearance of a conflict of interest on the part of an auditor can be just as damaging as an actual conflict of interest. Although conflict of interest measures are covered in the Values and Ethics Code for the Public Service, additional clarification on this subject is required.

It is clear that conflicts of interest involving an auditor and an audited organization must be avoided. However, this does not necessarily eliminate an auditor from participating in an audit of a department where he or she was previously employed. Audit and Data Services Branch policy is that at least two years should elapse before an auditor takes part in an audit of a previous employer. In any situation where the nature of the previous position, or its proximity in time, raises questions on the part of the employee or the entity, the auditor has a duty to discuss the matter with the manager in charge of the audit or with the Vice-President, Audit and Data Services Branch.

  • a. Past Employment

    Auditors obviously cannot audit their own earlier work. They also should not participate in audits that would entail examining the work of friends or close acquaintances. In addition, auditors should not actively seek employment with an entity that they are examining. This could easily be seen as impairing the auditor's judgment and objectivity. Also, should a staff member be approached by that entity about employment prospects, he or she should immediately inform the manager in charge of the audit, or a higher level authority, if appropriate.

    Recognizing that employees who are seconded to other departments or agencies remain PSC employees, secondments will not be approved by the PSC where the secondment position will, in the view of the PSC, place the Audit and Data Services Branch or the employee in a conflict of interest position.

  • b. Contractual Arrangements

    The Audit and Data Services Branch would not knowingly assign a consultant to an audit entity where the consultant (individual or company) is, has recently been, or may be contractually engaged. In such a situation, a consultant could end up auditing his or her own work or the work of his or her company. Therefore, the Audit and Data Services Branch requires a history of the consultant's business dealings with the entity being audited, covering the previous two years. The Audit and Data Services Branch will then decide whether the likelihood exists for a potential conflict of interest. In the same fashion, the Audit and Data Services Branch needs to be informed of any bid by the consultant or the company in relation to the entity being audited.

    Consultants and consulting companies contractually engaged by the Audit and Data Services Branch are required to provide a complete list, to the best of their knowledge, of current and recent contracts undertaken with an entity that they are examining, on their own behalf or on behalf of a client who has significant involvement with the entity. They are also responsible for informing the responsible audit manager for the contract of any bid, within their knowledge, that they or their company intend to make in relation to any entity they are auditing or in which they are working on behalf of the Audit and Data Services Branch.

    Auditors involved in contract negotiations have a duty to ensure that contracts entered into by the Audit and Data Services Branch are the result of well-established procedures and are above suspicion with regard to the validity of the criteria used in awarding them.

    The Audit and Data Services Branch wishes to preserve and maintain the co-operative and mutually beneficial relationships it has with consultants and companies. At the same time, the Audit and Data Services Branch must be able to demonstrate conclusively that contracts have not been subject to influence either by a former Audit and Data Services Branch employee currently with the company in question or by a former employee of the company currently employed by the Audit and Data Services Branch. Contract procedures should ensure that the Audit and Data Services Branch is protected from even the suspicion of conflict of interest.

2. Audit Effectiveness

The primary role of the Audit and Data Services Branch is to provide information to the PSC, which will allow the PSC to give assurance to Parliament as to the integrity of the appointment process. The Audit and Data Services Branch strives to achieve improvements in government activities related to the appointment process. In this regard, auditors should perform a constructive role in the formulation of their audit reports.

Although it is implicit in the auditor's role to offer the management of audited entities recommendations for improvement, care must be taken to ensure that the auditor does not assume the role of management in the provision of such advice. For example, direct participation in formulating policies or in designing systems and related controls should be avoided. In case of doubt on such matters, employees should discuss and clarify the situation with their supervisors.

3. Confidentiality of Audit Information

Auditors are required by this Code to respect the confidentiality of information acquired from audit entities. Auditors shall not disclose any official information or use it for personal reasons without authorization. Information collected in the course of an audit may only be used for the purpose for which it was collected and may not be disclosed other than for PSC audit purposes.

The Audit and Data Services Branch has developed certain practices and procedures for disclosing audit findings. These are outlined in Audit and Data Services Branch manuals. Disclosure of official information by auditors shall be only by way of such practices or with the authorization of managers. In addition, auditors must ensure the security and confidentiality of all files, whether in the offices of Audit and Data Services Branch or on the premises of the audit entity.

Entities have an interest and a right to know audit findings and conclusions. Out of fairness to those entities and to ensure proper verification of conclusions, it is necessary that all audit findings and conclusions be kept confidential until they have been completely substantiated, processed through an authorized clearance procedure with the audit entity, and approved for release by the President of the PSC. Improper or premature external disclosure of audit findings can harm the audited entity and cause embarrassment to the PSC.

The principle of confidentiality also dictates that all those working for the Audit and Data Services Branch must be cautious in discussing, with friends, relatives, and colleagues outside the Audit and Data Services Branch, work in which they are engaged, as well as projects being undertaken elsewhere in the Audit and Data Services Branch. It is necessary to take care not to make casual comments on the work of the Audit and Data Services Branch in departments or other entities.

4. Audit Substantiation

Auditors have a duty to be prepared to defend fully against a potential challenge of any and all audit findings, conclusions, and observations they make.

Just as the Audit and Data Services Branch applies criteria by which to assess the activities of audit entities, it applies a rigorous standard of proof when assessing the evidence used as the basis for audit findings and conclusions. The performance standards expected of Audit and Data Services Branch auditors are no less stringent than those that the Audit and Data Services Branch expects of the employees of the entities it audits. This is fair to audited organizations and also maintains and enhances the credibility of the Audit and Data Services Branch.

Auditors should ensure that the evidence supporting an audit report is appropriate in quality and quantity to make a convincing case for the conclusions reached.

The Audit and Data Services Branch has a duty to present only findings that are soundly based on facts and that can stand up to rigorous scrutiny. While it may be necessary, on occasion, to present conclusions that involve interpretation, such interpretation must be factual, logically consistent and reasonable. Auditors should maintain an objective, factual perspective.

5. Communications and Reporting

In compliance with the PSC communications policy, all public communications (e.g., speeches, news releases, presentation at conferences) from the Audit and Data Services Branch may only be undertaken after auditors have received the appropriate authorization from the Vice-President, Audit and Data Services Branch.

All Audit and Data Services Branch reports must meet the highest attainable standards for content and presentation. They should be written in accordance with PSC audit policies, in clear, precise and plain language and have gone through an editing process.

Annexe A

Le Code de déontologie en vérification de la CFP

Introduction

La Commission de la fonction publique du Canada (CFP) est un organisme indépendant qui rend compte de ses activités au Parlement. Aux termes de la présente Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique (LEFP) et de la nouvelle LEFP, qui a reçu la sanction royale en 2003 et qui doit entrer en vigueur d'ici la fin de 2005, la CFP a le pouvoir de faire des nominations internes et externes à la fonction publique fédérale. La nouvelle LEFP énonce dans son préambule que « le pouvoir de dotation devrait être délégué à l'échelon le plus bas possible dans la fonction publique pour que les gestionnaires disposent de la marge de manoeuvre dont ils ont besoin pour effectuer la dotation, et pour gérer et diriger leur personnel de manière à obtenir des résultats pour les Canadiens. »

Tandis que les deux lois (la loi actuelle et la nouvelle loi) donnent à la CFP le pouvoir de mener des vérifications sur toute question qui relève de sa compétence, la nouvelle loi étend le pouvoir de la CFP en lui permettant de vérifier l'exercice du pouvoir qu'ont les administrateurs généraux et les administratrices générales d'établir les qualifications requises, les exigences et les besoins et de faire des recommandations à ce chapitre. De plus, en vertu de la nouvelle LEFP, les nominations restent subordonnées aux politiques de la CFP.

C'est dans ce contexte de délégation accrue aux ministères que la CFP consolide sa fonction de vérification au sein de la Vérification et des services de données (VSD).

Le Code de déontologie en vérification de la CFP ajoute à la discipline professionnelle requise pour mener les vérifications. Tout comme les politiques de vérification et les autres politiques de la CFP, il guide les membres du personnel de la DGVEE dans leurs fonctions. Ce code est lié étroitement au Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique que les fonctionnaires doivent respecter.

Application

Le Code de déontologie en vérification de la CFP concerne les vérificateurs et les vérificatrices de la DGVEE ainsi que les autres employés ou employées de la CFP et les contractuels ou les contractuelles qui pourraient procéder à une vérification. Les termes « vérificateurs et vérificatrices » englobent tout le personnel de vérification de la Direction des opérations de vérification et de la Direction des politiques de vérification et de l'assurance de la qualité de la DGVEE, le directeur général ou la directrice générale, la vice-présidente ou le vice-président et toute personne en situation de détachement ou d'échange à la CFP. Les employés ou les employées qui estiment que ce code ne s'applique pas à eux, en tout ou en partie, doivent en parler à leur superviseur ou superviseure. En règle générale, les employés ou les employées s'adressent à leur superviseur ou superviseure dans ce cas, mais seule la présidente de la CFP a le pouvoir d'exempter une personne de l'obligation de respecter le Code.

La DGVEE encourage toutes ses vérificatrices et tous ses vérificateurs à se considérer comme des professionnelles et des professionnels, c'est-à-dire comme des travailleuses ou des travailleurs qui visent les normes les plus élevées dans l'exercice de leurs fonctions et qui en retirent un sentiment de fierté.

Date d'entrée en vigueur

Le présent code entre en vigueur le 31 mars 2005.

Responsabilités, autorisations et obligations de rendre compte

En plus d'observer les dispositions du c ode, les vérificateurs et les vérificatrices de la DGVEE doivent respecter toutes les exigences particulières en matière de conduite et les autres exigences qui sont contenues dans le Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique, la Loi sur l'emploi dans la fonction publique, la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques ainsi que les autres lois et règlements qui touchent à leur emploi, y compris :

  • la Loi sur l'accès à l'information ;
  • le Code canadien du travail , partie II ;
  • le Code criminel du Canada ;
  • la Loi sur les langues officielles et règlements ;
  • la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ;
  • la Loi sur les relations de travail dans la fonction publique ;
  • les autres lois applicables.

La LEFP est la loi habilitante de la DGVEE et de ses activités, qui doivent toutes se justifier en vertu de la LEFP et de toute autre disposition législative conférant des responsabilités à la CFP.

Les manuels de la DGVEE contenant les politiques, les normes et les pratiques de vérification doivent guider l'exécution des vérifications.

Exigences en matière de vérification

1. Objectivité

La personne chargée de la vérification ne doit pas préjuger des activités d'une entité. Elle est tenue d'exécuter ses travaux en toute objectivité. Il ne lui suffit pas d'être objective, elle doit être perçue comme telle.

La validité des travaux de la DGVEE et la confiance accordée à ces travaux par la CFP, les entités vérifiées et le Parlement, dépendent en grande partie de l'objectivité que l'on perçoit de la DGVEE. Par conséquent, l'objectivité est un élément crucial de la relation entre le vérificateur ou la vérificatrice et l'organisme vérifié. Elle garantit que les constatations et les rapports de vérification seront le fruit de l'analyse des éléments probants obtenus et réunis conformément aux politiques, aux normes et aux pratiques de la DGVEE, énoncées dans les prises de position professionnelles, les manuels de la DGVEE et la méthodologie sous-jacente.

Mesures visant à prévenir les conflits d'intérêts

La DGVEE est particulièrement vulnérable aux allégations de conflit d'intérêts, réel, possible ou suspecté, étant donné qu'elles peuvent remettre en question l'objectivité et la compétence dont la DGVEE doit faire preuve au moment de prendre des décisions impartiales. Ces qualités sont essentielles au succès du travail de la DGVEE. Comme sa réputation s'appuie sur un certain nombre de facteurs, incluant la façon dont le public perçoit ses travaux, un conflit d'intérêts apparent d'un vérificateur ou d'une vérificatrice peut être aussi dommageable qu'un conflit d'intérêts réel. Même si les mesures concernant les conflits d'intérêts sont prévues dans le Code de valeurs et d'éthique de la fonction publique, il y a lieu d'apporter certains éclaircissements sur le sujet.

Il est clair qu'il vaut mieux éviter tout conflit d'intérêts mettant en cause un vérificateur ou une vérificatrice et une organisation vérifiée. Cela ne signifie pas nécessairement qu'une vérificatrice ou qu'un vérificateur ne peut pas participer à la vérification d'un ministère pour lequel elle ou il a déjà travaillé. La DGVEE a pour politique d'atteindre deux ans avant qu'une vérificatrice ou qu'un vérificateur puisse participer à la vérification d'un ancien employeur. Devant toute situation où l'ancien poste ou la période écoulée depuis le départ de l'employé ou de l'employée soulève des questions de la part de l'entité ou de l'employé ou de l'employée, le vérificateur ou la vérificatrice a le devoir de discuter de la situation avec le gestionnaire ou la gestionnaire de la vérification ou avec la vice-présidente ou le vice-président de la DGVEE.

  • a. Ancien emploi
    Il est évident que les vérificatrices et les vérificateurs ne peuvent vérifier les résultats d'un travail qu'elles ou ils ont effectué antérieurement. Elles ou ils ne doivent pas participer aux vérifications qui prévoient l'examen des travaux d'amis ou de connaissances proches. De plus, le vérificateur ou la vérificatrice ne doit pas solliciter un emploi auprès de l'entité qu'il ou elle vérifie. Cette façon de faire pourrait être vue comme une atteinte à son jugement et à son objectivité. De plus, si un membre du personnel était approché par l'entité à propos de possibilités d'embauche, il devrait en informer immédiatement le gestionnaire ou la gestionnaire responsable de la vérification ou un supérieur ou une supérieure, s'il y a lieu.

    Puisque ses employées ou ses employés qui sont détachés auprès d'autres ministères ou organismes demeurent ses employés et employées, la CFP n'approuvera pas les détachements qui, à son avis, sont susceptibles de placer la DGVEE ou les employés ou les employées en situation de conflit d'intérêts.

    b. Ententes contractuelles
    La DGVEE doit éviter de confier sciemment une mission à un expert-conseil ou une experte-conseil (personne ou cabinet) qui est, a été, ou peut être prochainement lié par contrat avec l'entité à vérifier. Dans ce cas, l'expert-conseil ou l'experte-conseil pourrait en arriver à vérifier son propre travail ou celui de son cabinet. Par conséquent, la DGVEE exige de connaître les relations d'affaires qui ont existé au cours des deux dernières années entre l'expert-conseil ou l'experte-conseil et l'entité. Le DGVEE devra décider s'il y a risque de conflit d'intérêts. De même, la DGVEE doit être informée de toute offre présentée par l'expert-conseil ou l'experte-conseil ou son cabinet qui concerne l'entité à vérifier.

    Les experts-conseils ou les expertes-conseils et les cabinets qui ont des contrats avec la DGVEE sont tenus de fournir, à leur connaissance, une liste complète de tous les contrats actuels et récents qu'ils ou elles ont passés avec l'entité qu'ils ou elles examinent, en leur nom ou pour le compte d'une cliente ou d'un client qui est lié de près à l'entité. Ils ou elles doivent aviser le gestionnaire ou la gestionnaire de la vérification de toute offre qu'à leur connaissance, eux-mêmes ou elles-mêmes ou leurs cabinets s'apprêtent à présenter par rapport à l'entité chez qui ils ou elles effectuent une vérification ou d'autres travaux pour le compte de la DGVEE.

    Les vérificateurs et les vérificatrices qui participent à la négociation des contrats ont le devoir de s'assurer que les contrats que conclut la DGVEE le sont en vertu d'une procédure bien établie et qu'aucun doute ne pèse sur la validité des critères utilisés pour leur adjudication.

    La DGVEE entend préserver et maintenir des rapports de collaboration mutuellement avantageux avec les experts-conseils ou les expertes-conseils et les cabinets. Parallèlement, la DGVEE doit être en mesure de prouver hors de tout doute que l'adjudication des contrats aux cabinets n'est d'aucune façon le fait de pressions exercées par d'anciens employés ou d'anciennes employées travaillant dans certains cabinets ou par d'anciens employés ou d'anciennes employées des cabinets qui travaillent pour la DGVEE. La procédure d'adjudication des contrats doit mettre la DGVEE à l'abri de tout soupçon de conflit d'intérêts.

2. Efficacité de la vérification

Le rôle premier de la DGVEE est de fournir de l'information à la CFP qui lui permettra de donner l'assurance au Parlement que le processus de nomination est intègre. Son objectif est d'améliorer les opérations du gouvernement en ce qui a trait au processus de nomination. Le vérificateur ou la vérificatrice doit démontrer une attitude constructive dans la rédaction des rapports de vérification.

Bien que le rôle du vérificateur ou de la vérificatrice consiste implicitement à recommander des améliorations à la direction de l'entité, il ou elle doit prendre garde, ce faisant, de ne pas assumer le rôle de la direction. Par exemple, il ou elle doit éviter toute participation directe à l'élaboration de politiques ou à la conception de systèmes et de contrôles connexes. En cas de doute à ce sujet, les employés ou les employées doivent consulter leur superviseur ou leur superviseure.

3. Confidentialité de l'information recueillie au cours de la vérification

Le Code de déontologie en vérification de la CFP exige que les vérificateurs et les vérificatrices respectent la confidentialité de l'information obtenue auprès des entités vérifiées. Il leur est interdit de divulguer une information officielle ou de l'utiliser à des fins personnelles sans autorisation. L'information recueillie en cours de vérification ne peut servir qu'aux fins prévues et ne peut être divulguée qu'aux seules fins de vérification de la CFP.

La DGVEE a élaboré des pratiques et des procédures pour communiquer les constatations des vérifications. Elles sont décrites dans ses manuels. La divulgation d'une information officielle par les vérificateurs et les vérificatrices n'est permise que dans la mesure où elle est prévue par ces pratiques ou sur autorisation des gestionnaires. En outre, les vérificateurs et les vérificatrices doivent garantir la sécurité et la confidentialité de tous les dossiers, dans les bureaux de la DGVEE ou ceux de l'entité vérifiée.

Les entités vérifiées ont intérêt à connaître les constatations et les conclusions des vérifications et elles ont le droit de savoir. Afin de garantir que les entités sont traitées avec équité et que les conclusions ont été examinées avec soin, elles doivent demeurer confidentielles jusqu'à ce qu'elles aient été parfaitement corroborées, approuvées par l'entité et que leur diffusion ait été autorisée par la présidente de la CFP. La divulgation inopportune ou prématurée des constatations de vérification peut nuire à l'entité vérifiée et mettre la CFP dans l'embarras.

De plus, la règle de confidentialité impose à tous ceux et toutes celles qui travaillent pour la DGVEE d'être prudents ou prudentes lorsqu'ils ou elles discutent avec des amis ou des amies, des parents ou des collègues qui ne sont pas de la DGVEE, de leur travail ou d'autres projets menés par leur direction. Ils ou elles doivent se garder de faire au passage des commentaires sur le travail que fait la DGVEE dans les ministères ou d'autres entités.

4. Corroboration des vérifications

Les vérificateurs et les vérificatrices doivent être prêts à justifier sans difficulté leurs constatations, leurs conclusions et leurs observations en cas de questions embarrassantes.

De la même manière qu'elle s'appuie sur des critères pour vérifier les activités d'une entité, la DGVEE s'appuie sur une norme de preuve rigoureuse au moment d'évaluer les éléments probants qui étayent les constatations et les conclusions des vérifications. Les normes de rendement que la DGVEE impose à ses vérificateurs ou à ses vérificatrices ne sont pas moins strictes que celles qu'elle attend des employés ou des employées des entités vérifiées. C'est une question d'équité, certes, et c'est aussi une question de préserver et d'accroître la crédibilité de la DGVEE.

Les vérificateurs et les vérificatrices doivent s'assurer que les éléments probants qui étayent leur rapport de vérification répondent aux conditions de qualité et de quantité permettant de constituer un dossier solide à l'appui des conclusions formulées.

Les constatations présentées par la DGVEE doivent être fondées sur des faits, qui pourront résister à un examen minutieux. Bien qu'il puisse parfois être nécessaire de présenter des conclusions qui laissent place à l'interprétation, celle-ci doit être factuelle, cohérente, logique et raisonnable. Le vérificateur ou la vérificatrice doit conserver un point de vue objectif et factuel.

5. Communication et rapports

Conformément à la Politique sur les communications de la CFP, la vice-présidente ou le vice-président de la DGVEE doit autoriser toutes les communications publiques de la DGVEE (discours, communiqués, présentations).

Les rapports de la DGVEE doivent répondre aux plus hautes normes quant au contenu et à la présentation. Ils doivent être rédigés conformément aux politiques de vérification de la CFP, dans un langage simple et précis et être révisés.